Friday Fun Day – 5/18

18 May

An old Downtown LA theater turned into a clothing store. Oh LA. I’ll miss you.

 

What I Learned:

  • When you get really into a story you’re reading, your behavior can be influenced by the characters. This is yet another reason for banning young girls from reading Twilight. We don’t need any more mopey, pathetic Bellas out there. (Thanks, Jezebel)
  • Lisa Frank is a real person! I always thought she was a name created by a marketing team. She’s real?! She must wear rainbows and sparkles every day and ride a unicorn to work! (Thanks, hellogiggles)
  • There is a novel titled Star Ka’at in which alien cats come to Earth to save all the earthling cats before humans destroy themselves.¬† I want to read this more than you can ever know. (Thanks Flavorwire)

Links:

  • Names are fascinating to me, and the Baby Name Wizard blog is always there to feed my obsession. Look at all the boy “Ja-” names! And why do we love¬† the letter X so much?!
  • Are unpaid library internships ethical? I agree so much with this blogger. I remember being very aware of the uneven distribution of internships as an undergrad. It seemed so unfair to punish the kids who actually have to earn some money to make it through college.

 

One Response to “Friday Fun Day – 5/18”

  1. Amanda May 18, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    I loved living in LA, they have some really amazing stores. And Lisa Frank will seriously always be one of my favorite people in the whole world!

Give me a shout!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 733 other followers

