5k! DONE AND DONE!

30 Apr

I have knocked one of the items on my LA list — running the UCLA 5k!

No, I did not wear these glasses while running. It would have been too intimidating to the other runners.

Please note the post-race sweaty sheen, the pink face, and the look of absolute excitement! Oh, and please ignore the goofy hand gesture.

For years, I had a tortured relationship with running, thanks to PE. PE is torture for high schoolers who aren’t naturally athletic. Straight up torture, both physically and emotionally. You already are insecure about your fitness? Cool. Let’s make you run a timed mile in front of your whole class and prove that you’re slow. Oh, and then you get a bad grade. Done and done. Ugh. Hate. I promised myself that I’d never have to run again, after I graduated from high school.

That promise went out the window when I was 20, out of shape after studying abroad and eating tons of delicious British cookies, and without a gym membership.  I huffed and puffed my way around town, walking a lot, running a little, but all in all, I kinda liked it. It gave me time to zone out and listen to music, plus I always feel better after a run.

Since then, I’ve had periods where I’ve run more than others, but I’ve never been that serious about it. A 5k always seemed to be just out of reach. Sure, it’s not that far of a run, but you have to put some effort into training if you’re half slug like me. And I always had something better to do — Say Yes to the Dress marathons, eating Speculoos out of the jar, painting my nails different colors…important things.

I finally had enough about two months ago. No more excuses. I’m healthy enough to run a 5k, I just need to put in the effort! So, March and April became a haze of four to five time a week runs. I finally finished the Couch to 5k program I started in 2006. (I was able to start from the middle weeks, so I didn’t have to do the whole 8 week program). I actually tracked my times and distances. I pushed harder. I didn’t give up and walk nearly as much as I used to. And it worked.

My friends, I have now completed a 5k with an offical 34:57 time, three seconds faster than my goal. I ran up hills, I was cheered on by a very sweet boy (who got up EARLY on a Sunday with me with no grumbling at all!), I was passed by folks pushing strollers, and I passed people in very serious looking athletic gear. It was crazy.

Most importantly, I didn’t walk once. Every time I wanted to, I reminded myself of all the hard work I had put in. I couldn’t let myself down by walking, even for a few seconds. So I didn’t. And it was awesome.

6 Responses to “5k! DONE AND DONE!”

  1. Looks & Books May 1, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Congratulations! I have a very similar relationship with running–I have done a couple 5k races, but never seriously, and it’s still one of my goals. It’s just a matter of signing up for one at this point! I hope you keep up the running, for that little bit of you time.

  2. Sarah Von June 6, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Awesome! Huge congrats!

  3. JessB June 18, 2012 at 2:22 am #

    I followed you here from your comment on YesandYes, and just wanted to let you know that I’m loving your writing! Very funny, sweet, informative – really speaks to me.

    I’ve subscribed, and now I’m going to have fun reading more of your older posts. Yay!

    • ohdizzle June 18, 2012 at 6:23 am #

      Thanks, Jess! I’m so glad you made your way over here! Hope you enjoy (and I hope you like pictures of cats…because there may be a few of those…)

      • JessB June 19, 2012 at 3:30 am #

        I am really loving the blog, and can’t wait to see many pictures of cats. I am not a huge fan of cats in real life, but I adore them in pictures.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I Run « ohdizzle - August 27, 2012

    […] I trained for that 5k race back in April, running has become an almost daily part of my life. Sure, there are days when I would much rather […]

Give me a shout!

