Friday Fun Day – 5/25

25 May

A view of this past weekend’s solar eclipse from the bf’s rooftop. You know what’s really tempting? Staring at an eclipse. You know what you shouldn’t do? Stare at an eclipse. Bah.

I’m super jazzed for this weekend. I’m headed up to the Bay Area for good friends, good food and generally good times. I don’t get to see my Bay Area people nearly as much as I would like, so this trip is very needed.

What I Learned:

  • Chattanooga has it’s own official typeface: Chatype. It’s also becoming a hipster town. All my extended Tennessee family lives in the Chattanooga area, and I remember liking it when I visited, so I’m happy that it’s coming into its own. I mean, it’s always had one of the most awesome city names anyway. (Thanks, Austin Culturemap)
  • So Kel Mitchell, of Kenan and Kel, 90’s Nickelodeon fame, doesn’t have much of a career at the moment. What’s he doing to fill his time? He’s throwing orange soda themed parties at bars. WOOOOOOW. (Thanks, Buzzfeed)
  • JFK attended LSE as an international student for all of a month before going home due to illness. Basically, he was a study abroad counselor’s worst nightmare. (Thanks, Wikipedia)
  • There is such a thing as “eclipse blindness”, which comes on a few hours after staring at the eclipse. It can be permanent! Be careful! Of course, this meant that after I stared at Saturday’s eclipse like an idiot, I kept waiting for my vision to go. Thankfully, I can still see. Take that, dastardly eclipse! (Thanks, LA Times)

Links:

  • Love this interview with Dan Savage, sex columnist extraordinaire. He has a lot of interesting things to say about working as a columnist, how the media educates/doesn’t educate about sex, etc.
  • This ad for Getty Images is made up of 873 images strung together by the world’s most determined/insane editor. The amount of work that went into this is mindboggling!

Indiana is just…well, he’s like so many frat guys I have known. He’s muscular and fun-loving; he hides his emotions and pretty much ignores me (and Eric) unless he wants to play. When he wants to play, he is relentless — he’s the guy texting you pictures of his dick.

3 Responses to “Friday Fun Day – 5/25”

  1. Harriet May 27, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    interesting fact about JFK – I didn’t know that! Also definitely clicking on the lesser known things to do in London link – looks like some great inspiration for summer days!

  2. Rachel Wilkerson (@RachelGettingIt) May 29, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    1. I HAVE been wondering what Kel Mitchell is up to.
    2. What is it with crazy men on the street assuming all women are pregnant?! It’s happened to me too.
    3. Thanks for the shout-out!

    • ohdizzle May 29, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      Of course! The post about your dog seriously had me in stitches. Such a macho pup. 😉

Give me a shout!

