Friday Fun Day – 6/15/2012

15 Jun

Lovely necklace from a dear friend. Thanks, B! The necklace made by Oh Hello Friend

What I learned:

  • Amazon sells bounce houses, and they’re not nearly as expensive as you’d imagine! I always thought having your own bounce house went into the category of owning your own small menagerie or bowling alley. I may have a birthday coming up…just saying…
  • There was a fad in the 1800’s to get daguerrotypes taken of you, as you breastfed your child. Oh those wild Victorians. (Thanks, New Yorker)
  • A bunch of starlings hanging out together are called a murmuration. A ton of hawks? A kettle. Lots of hippos? A bloat. Gahhhh…all these animal group terms are so good. Who coins these terms? I want in! (Thanks, San Diego Zoo)

Links:

  • Are you an order muppet or a chaos muppet? I’m pretty sure I’m an order muppet. I sympathize way too much with Bert and Kermit to be any other type. But that being said, I love cookies and have a ridiculously messy room…hmmm. Quandaries.
  • So, I care about the NBA just about as much as I care about the USA’s ping pong chances in the summer Olympics (so, like, not at all), but this article about the thought that goes into figuring out a new name for New Orleans’ NBA team is really interesting! I like the New Orleans Zombies, personally.
3 Responses to “Friday Fun Day – 6/15/2012”

  1. Laura June 16, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    OBViously need to find out what kind of muppet I am, so thanks for that!

  2. melissa blake June 16, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    Awesome links — I never get tired of looking at Maddie photos!

  3. Harriet June 16, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    Great selection of links – I definitely need nail varnish with real gold in it!

Give me a shout!

