Top Ten Books I Want to Read this Summer

19 Jun

Another Tuesday, another Broke and Bookish Top Ten List!

The theme this week is the top ten books you have on your summer to be read list. You may notice that many of these books are from the used bookstore haul of this weekend. I can’t put off reading new books! NEED TO READ ALL THE BOOKS! So here goes!

1. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

No, I’ve never read it. It was on a summer reading list for school when I was about 11, and I managed to skip over it. I’m reading this summer to make up for that oversight, and to get ready for the upcoming movie. And as an aside, I have the hardest time ever spelling Tolkien’s name correctly. Even when I do it right, it looks wrong. Shouldn’t it have two k’s? Or two l’s? Or something?

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth

This is one of those big, YA dystopia series that came on the heels of The Hunger Games…and I’m just dying to read it. YA novels fit summer so well. They’re entertaining, usually plot-driven, and honestly, don’t make you think all that hard. Perfect.

3. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson

I’m a blogger now. I should like blogger things,  especially when the blogger thing in question is this blogger’s memoir that is being touted as David Sedaris in style. Down.

4. In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson

I love love love Erik Larson. I do. He’s the master of the entertaining, creative nonfiction genre. Can’t wait to get lost in this story of politics, war, love and Nazis.

5. The Rules of Attraction by Bret Easton Ellis

After reading Tartt’s The Secret History a few weeks ago, I’m dying to read this companion piece by Ellis. He writes about the same fictional, snooty, New England university, but from a completely different viewpoint. Plus there’s a love triangle. You know what’s integral to summer reading? Love triangles.

6. The Tommyknockers by Stephen King

I read two big King novels while traveling alone two summers ago (The Stand and It) and enjoyed myself thoroughly. They’re creepy, engrossing, and just plain fun. When I found The Tommyknockers for a buck the other day, I knew that this would have to be added to the summer reading list.

7. The Dud Avocado by Elaine Dundy

An American girl goes abroad and raises hell in Paris during the 1950s. Um. Yes. Please.

8. The Pursuit of Love and Love in a Cold Climate by Nancy Mitford

This is a two for one type of deal, as two of Mitford’s autobiographical novels are included in this book. I’ve always heard that Mitford is fun and gossipy. And who doesn’t love upper crust Brits and their exploits?

9. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurty

I’m moving to Texas. Obviously, I need a western on here, and this one comes highly recommended by my lovely friend Becky. (HI BECKY!)

10. The Polysyllabic SpreeA Hilarious and True Account of One Man’s Struggle With the Monthly Tide of the Books He’s Bought and the Book’s He’s Been Meaning to Read by Nick Hornby

And I’ll finish with a book that will hopefully give me a whole bunch of reading recommendations for the fall! Thanks, Nick Hornby!

Happy summer reading, everyone! Can’t wait to hear what’s on your list!

4 Responses to “Top Ten Books I Want to Read this Summer”

  1. barefoot_med_student June 19, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    I also didn’t read The Hobbit in school, and so read it for summer (December) last year. Unfortunately I did not enjoy it, but I am glad I read it before the movie arrives. Enjoy the reads!

  2. Jillian ♣ June 21, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    I also want to reaad The Hobbit! I’ve never read Tolkien and fear I’ll dislike his work, but I think I should try it and form an opinion after rather than before. 🙂

    • ohdizzle June 21, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      I’ve tried to read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy before, and very quickly gave up. It was just too dry for me, and, to be honest, I don’t think I’ll return to it any time soon. That being said, I’m only one chapter in to The Hobbit, but so far so good! It’s pretty cute and easy reading, especially in comparison to the Trilogy!

  3. Laura June 21, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    *whispers* The Tommyknockers is probably the worst King book I’ve read. And I’ve read a lot. BUT you may like it so don’t let me put you off! ALSO may I just say that I’ve read The Secret History and The Rules of the Attraction, and yet had no idea they were set at the same university! Very interesting information!

Give me a shout!

