Friday Fun Day — 6/22/12

22 Jun

 

Headed to good old Disneyland this past weekend. Fun was had. Bam.

To say I’m busy/overwhelmed would be the understatement of the century. This week it was Disneyland and then a work conference. This weekend I’m heading to the ALA Annual conference, which I’m sure will be awesome but EXHAUSTING. Then next week is one of the busiest weeks at work, as my university welcomes about 600 international students…and my office gets to photocopy every single one of their documents as  they wait. Wow. Throw in some really deeply felt angst about the upcoming changes in my life as well as  the lives of those I love, and it’s almost more than a girl can take. Really.

Luckily, the week ends with my girlfriends and my annual trip to my family cabin up in the Sierra Nevadas. I’ll need the break! Oh, and my birthday. I haven’t even thought about that.
Enjoy these links as I go insane!

 

What I Learned:

  • House Hunters is fake! Some of the houses aren’t even for sale! I feel my whole world falling apart… (Thanks, AV Club)
  • After this last trip to Disneyland, I started really pondering Splash Mountain’s existence. It was built in the 1980’s, and yet it is based on the story of Song of the South, not one of Disney’s more popular movies. It’s never been released in full on home video, as it doesn’t handle issues of race/slavery delicately…to understate the issue. So why in the world would you make a ride based on it?! Because they needed to use the robots from another failing ride, America Sings, and they figured this was the best fit! There you go. Also, what’s the reason it’s called Splash Mountain and not some sort of themed name? It’s because Michael Eisner was trying to figure out some way to advertise the new movie Splash. Oh Disney. You amaze me. (Thanks, Wikipedia)
  • I’m not alone in my crazy! 68% of people experience “phantom vibrations”, the crazy thing where you think you feel your phone vibrating, but it actually didn’t. I feel this ALL THE TIME. I guess I’m just always hoping someone will call me. Sad trombone. (Thanks, Mental Floss)
  • It costs nearly a quarter of a million dollars to raise a child to age 17. Yep. $250,000 big ones. yayyyy babies… (Thanks, The Week)
  • Everyone on Earth is at least 50th cousins with everyone else! WHAT. And, “if you are currently dating or married to somebody who is from your own country and is of your own ethnicity, there is a 1 in 5 chance that the two of you share a common family member fewer than 10 generations ago.” I learned this fact from an awesome Youtube video by VSauce. I’m really ready to explore the whole channel!

 

Links

  • There’s always that one kid in every high school English class, who asks if the authors meant to have any symbolism in their work. I’ve always chalked  this up to laziness (if there’s no real symbolism, then you don’t have  to think/talk/write about it!), but this high school kid took it one step further and actually mailed authors to ask them about symbolism in their works. They responded.
4 Responses to “Friday Fun Day — 6/22/12”

  1. Alley June 22, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    When I found out about House Hunters I was the same way! I’m still the same way. WHAT ELSE IS A LIE, HGTV??

    • ohdizzle June 22, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

      I know! If you can’t trust HGTV, who can you trust? No one. That’s who.

  2. Laura June 22, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    I get phantom vibrations too, BUT do you also get a thing where you feel like you *might* have a text, and as you look at your phone you get one?! That happens to me pretty often, and makes me feel magic!

    • ohdizzle June 22, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

      That is CRAZY. I want that power. I try to will my phone into getting texts sometimes, but that never works. 😉

Give me a shout!

