Top Ten — Characters that are Most Similar to Me

26 Jun

Another Tuesday, another Top Ten Tuesday from the Broke and the Bookish. This week, the prompt was to come up with ten characters who remind me of myself or someone I know. I decided to go with only characters who remind me of myself, because who wants to hear that they remind me of Neville Longbottom or Augustus Gloop. No one. That’s who.

Top Ten Characters Who Remind Me of Mysel

  • Beverly Cleary in My Own Two Feet: A Memoir

On my 10th birthday, my grandma took me on an excursion to get lunch and to go to Barnes and Noble to get any book I wanted. This was basically a dream come true for a bookish kid like me. I had been a huge fan of Beverly Cleary’s Ramona books for years, and as soon as I saw her glorious, hardcover memoir, I knew I had to have it. I’m so glad I found it. This is actually the second part of her two-part memoir, so it covers her life from when she goes off to college through the start of her career. I loved it. I loved imagining what my life would be like in college, who I would meet, what it would be like to live on my own…etc. And I think I’ve lived up to Beverly Cleary’s example, from going to college in Southern California to heading to library school. Now I just need to write a bunch of wildly successful kid’s books.

 

 

 

 

  • Caroline Bender in The Best of Everything

I just read this novel last week, so Caroline is still fresh in my brain. It’s been a long time since I’ve read about a character who is so eerily similar to me, and, honestly, I didn’t always like what I saw. She’s smart, fairly self-possessed, and good at her job. I hope I’m those things. She’s also clueless about relationships and gets hurt because of it; unsure of what she wants from life; and maybe just set to wander a bit. Ugh. I feel like I can relate so much to those traits, and I hate it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  •  Sarah in Little Children

Sarah is the mother I’m afraid I’ll become. She loves her kid, sure, but she is also bored. So bored. She never really bought into the whole mommy experience like the other neighborhood ladies, and now she’s paying for it. I feel like I’d turn into Sarah if I became a stay at home mom…except probably without a torrid affair with a Patrick Wilsonesque (in the movie at least!) character.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  •  Hermione in the Harry Potter series

Everyone wants to be Hermione, right? Well, I have curly, brown hair; I love the library and books; and I can be a bit smart-alecky, especially when my male friends are being dumb. I think that makes me at least a little like her.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  •  Elizabeth Bennett in Pride and Prejudice

Another character everyone wants to be. She’s witty, smart, and speaks her mind. I hope I’m the first two, and I had more of the last trait. And I may have been told in my life that I have “fine eyes”. Just sayin. On the flip side, I have the same prejudice problem that she does, in that I can be a judgy mcjudgerson. I guess I need a Mr. Darcy to snap me out of it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Beezus in the Ramona books

I think most kids identify with Ramona, but I always felt that I had more in common with big sister Beezus. Like many older siblings, we both feel like we have to be the responsible, good older kids. While we would never admit it, we are a bit jealous of our younger sisters get to be crazy and march to their own drum. We also revel in being the older sister a bit though, because duh — older sisters are the best.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Sarah Louise in Jacob Have I Loved

Another angsty young adult novel about bad sisterly relationships. Let me just say now, I love my little sis. She’s awesome, funny and sends me cat videos when I need them most. So yeah. But as a teenager, there are certainly moments in which you feel like you’re the one loved less, the unspecial one, and all you want to do is get out. I remember reading this book when I was about 13 and feeling so much like Sarah Louise, as she is trapped in a small town on an island with her perfect sister. It was ridiculous, as my life was fine, but you wouldn’t be able to tell 13 year old Mandy that.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  •  Tina Fey in Bossypants

A late blooming good girl who dorkily uses her brain and self-deprecating humor to earnestly try to get ahead. Yeah. Sounds familiar. I just hope I can end up 1/8 as successful as she is.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  •  Jessie in the Boxcar Children series

Oh, I loved these, and I’m not sure if I was actually like Jessie, but I certainly wanted to be like her. She had everyone under control and always knew what to do. I liked to think that I was in a boxcar living situation, I’d be the same. Not so sure about that now…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  •  Clarissa in Mrs. Dalloway

I don’t think I’m like Clarissa at all, actually, but the first line of Mrs. Dalloway resonated with me more than any other novel I read in college. “Mrs. Dalloway said she would buy the flowers herself.” Because why wait for someone else to do it? Independence is important to me, and so I’ve always tried to live by this line. I think I measure up.

12 Responses to “Top Ten — Characters that are Most Similar to Me”

  1. Mary June 26, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    I hated writing this week but Im really enjoying reading others’. I love your Jessie – though I think I was too much like her so I always wanted to be more like Violet!

    • ohdizzle June 26, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      I think I just wanted to be in charge, which was much more Jessie than Violet. 🙂

  2. tarynwanderer June 26, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    What a wonderfully well-thought out list! I also definitely felt like a Beezus was my brother and I were younger; even though I liked the Ramona Quimby books, in true Beezus fashion I was often annoyed by her antics. 😉 I have The Best of Everything on my TBR list and it sounds like I would also be able to see myself in those characters.

    Thanks for sharing your list!

    • ohdizzle June 26, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      Thanks! I highly recommend The Best of Everything! Yes, it’s definitely dated in a lot of ways, but the characters really are spot on.

  3. Laura June 26, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    So concerning being a Sarah-type mother from Little Children… And I feel kind of the same! Worrying. Apart from the affair with Patrick Wilson, obviously, which would clearly be awesome.

  4. Zo June 26, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    I would like to see myself as Elizabeth Bennett, too…witty and a shrewd observer…and I’d probably get the same “comeuppance” (oops misjudge much?) she does!
    I have not yet read Bossypants but have the same feeling about Tina Fey you do. Late bloomers rock!

    • ohdizzle June 26, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

      Yeah…I definitely think I have both the good and the bad of Lizzie. Oooooh well.

      Woooo late bloomers! 😉

  5. Amy June 26, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    I loved your list! Definitely one of the more unique ones out there. I’m putting the Beverly Cleary memoir on my to-read list right now!

    • ohdizzle June 26, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

      Thanks! 🙂

      And yes, you have to read her memoir! To be honest, I’m not sure why I love it as much as I do, but I have come back to it a few times through the years. She also has one called A Girl From Yamhill that is about her childhood in Oregon. I remember liking that one too, but not nearly as much as My Own Two Feet.

  6. melissa blake June 26, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    Beezu for the WIN! I looove her. And Mary-Ann from the Babysitter’s Club…she was always my favorite.

  7. Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) June 26, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    I always wanted to be Hermione too!

  8. Lauren@The Housework Can Wait June 29, 2012 at 7:23 am #

    I’m really impressed you were able to do this topic and actually come up with 10 characters. It was hard!

    And I LOVED The Boxcar Children when I was a kid! For some reason, their simple little meals always sounded so heavenly 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

Give me a shout!

