Cabin Times!

28 Jun

I am very lucky, in that my extended family owns a cabin up in gorgeous, sequoia tree filled Kings Canyon National Park. Since it has no cell phone or internet access, it’s an amazing place to just unplug and relax. And why relax on your own, when you can do it with seven of your closest girlfriends?!

My college friends and I have been heading up to the cabin every summer (missing one!) since we graduated. It’s been the start of lots of inside jokes, deep conversations, great meals and long, warm days by the lake.

Eating breakfast outside always feels extra special for some reason.

 

Hikes around the neighborhood…yep, it’s pretty spectacular.

 

And this is what hiking quickly turns into.

 

The view of the closest lake.

A bit more lakeside lounging…

 

And no trip is complete without campfire tomfoolery and lots and lots of s’mores.

 

Our first trip way back in 2007…

 

And last year! We’ve added on a bit through the years. 🙂

After this hellish week of bad news, hard work and being very emotionally down, this is JUST what I need. These ladies are the best, and I can’t wait to hole up for a weekend with them.

Do any of you have summer traditions? I’d love to hear about them!

3 Responses to “Cabin Times!”

  1. Laura June 29, 2012 at 4:06 am #

    Aw, I’m sorry your week has sucked, but it sure looks like your weekend is going to be awesome! Have loads of fun! (ps can I come too?! It looks gorgeous! 🙂 )

    • ohdizzle June 29, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      Thanks, Laura! Sure! Come on down! The more, the merrier is the general cabin philosophy. 😉

  2. JessB June 30, 2012 at 2:33 am #

    How amazing! As an Aussie, I’ve always loved the way Americans vacation. Here, summer is over Christmas, so we’re looking forward to it. Some of my Dad’s family rent houses in a place called Broulee. Over the years, it has grown and grown, and now my cousins are taking their kids there too. My Mum was never keen on going, so now that she my Dad have split up, we go.

    Everyone goes over the same two weeks, and we all play and swim and eat and walk together. It was my first time up there this year, and it was AMAZING! We stayed with my aunt and uncle right across the road from the beach, so we could swim all the time. There was one day there were no waves, so no surfing or boarding of any kind. Instead, we pulled out the frisbee and a special bouncy ball that bounced off the water! There was about 20 of us in the water, from my aunts and uncles (in their 50’s), my cousins (from their late 30’s to teenagers) and my cousins kids (teenagers to brand new babies). We had a ball!

    I hope you have a really swell time with the girls, and really get to enjoy that fantastic scenery and those wonderful friends.

Give me a shout!

