Goals.

5 Jul

I turned 27 this past weekend, and I was lucky enough to be able to spend that day with six of my closest girlfriends. We love to talk. And talk. And talk some more. Any topic from music to cooking to sex is on the table. It’s amazing! 

One of the topics we come back to year after year is goals. We share them while sitting around the campfire, and then reflect on if we attained them the next year. Because of this, the cabin trip has become a great way to mark how we’ve grown as the years have passed. 

One of my friend brought a list of goals we’d made wayyyy back in spring 2007, as we were planning our last few months as college students and roommates. Most of us had at least five or six items on it, including making time for being outside, talking to family more, eating better, studying harder, etc. What was mine?

Image

Yep. That’s all it said. That’s it. Maybe I was the most emo 21 year old ever? Maybe there was a boy involved? Ok, I’m SURE there was a boy involved. Ugh. And I love the drama sometimes?

So, after getting a good laugh out it, I did start thinking about it a little bit more. Maybe this should be my goal for life. I tend to mull things over an obscene amount. I agonize about small decisions, including those that are completely out of my control. I scream at the universe, I curse my luck, I internalize bad feelings. What does this lead to? Nothing good, that’s for sure. 

So maybe now that I’m 27, I should give myself a break. I should listen to the advice that 21 year old Mandy tried to give herself 6 years ago, and just relax. I will treat myself the same way I try to treat others, with sympathy and respect. I deserve it too, right?

3 Responses to “Goals.”

  1. Laura July 5, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    Helllls yeah! Give yourself a break, because you’re clearly awesome 🙂

    • ohdizzle July 5, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

      Aw, thanks! I’m all blushy now! 🙂

  2. heykerryann July 8, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    That’s some pretty good advice I wish I’d take sometimes, too.

Give me a shout!

