Top Ten Tuesdays: Books I Can’t Wait to Share with my Bookish Children

10 Jul

Time for Top Ten Tuesdays from Broke and Bookish! This week the theme was to choose your own theme, which I actually found tough to do. Apparently I flourish when structure is involved?

After much dithering, I settled on:

“The Top Ten Books I’m Excited to Share with my Hypothetical Future Bookworm Children”. 

  • The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Well, duh. Do I need to explain this?

  • The Little House Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder


I loved having these books read to me when I was a kid. The plots are generally a good mix of adventure and simplicity. Plus, I want my kids to have survival skills/cooking skills/hay twisting skills. These books teach all those things.

  • The Ramona Books by Beverly Cleary

Another given, I think. All of Beverly Cleary’s characters are super memorable, but Ramona leads the pack. I want my kids to feel like Ramona’s their friend, just as I did.

  • The Giver by Lois Lowry

This was my first truly favorite book. I loved it through and through. It also was the first book that showed me that there can be more to the story than just plot and that conclusions can be up for debate. I hope my kids get the same things out of it. Also, I just want them to like dystopia novels, since they are AWESOME.

  • The Olivia Books by Ian Falconer

Olivia is rambunctious, mischievous, good-hearted, and hilarious. I can’t wait to read these aloud!

  • The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

I read this middle grades novel recently and loved the emphasis it put on both science and history. Plus, the main character is a fantastic role model for smart girls.

  • The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

This is my attempt to start the anglophilia early in my kiddos. I want them imagining gray, horrible days, old English gardens, and lonely manors. Sure, it may not make them popular kids, but they WILL then study abroad in the UK in college. THEY WILL.

  • Matilda by Roald Dahl

Everyone has to read Roald Dahl as a kid. It’s required. You need that kind of wonderful weirdness to be a rounded human, I believe. Matilda is one of my favorites, as it celebrates brains and books. Plus, THE TRUNCHBULL. Yikes!

  • Sideways Stories from Wayside School by Louis Sachar

Who didn’t love these ridiculously wacky stories as a kid? I loved trying to figure out what my ice cream flavor would taste like (I like to imagine it would be a natural vanilla/honeycomb mix)! Plus, the length of these stories are perfect for bedtime reading.

  • Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst

You know what, kid? Life’s tough sometimes. And you don’t get to move to Australia. Things get better though!

What would your choices be? I’d love to know what you can’t wait to read to your kid!

23 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesdays: Books I Can’t Wait to Share with my Bookish Children”

  1. jennasthilaire July 10, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    OK, I love your list topic! And every one of these that I’ve read–at least half–I’d say the same thing about (so maybe I should read the rest…) Hypothetical future children MUST READ.

    Also: Hodgson Burnett’s The Little Princess, Shannon Hale’s The Goose Girl and Princess Academy, Alcott’s Little Women, the first three of L’Engle’s Time books, The Chronicles of Narnia, Felix Salten’s Bambi, Johanna Spyri’s Heidi, L.M. Montgomery’s books… those are the others that come first to mind, but I’m sure there are ever so many more!

    • ohdizzle July 11, 2012 at 10:30 am #

      Yes yes yes to Little Women and L’Engles Time books! I feel like they’d both make really good read aloud books. 🙂

  2. Laura July 10, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Oh man, yes to Harry Potter! I kind of want to read them like *with* my (hypothetical) kids, as bedtime stories or something so we can have the magic alll together! And clearly every childhood NEEDS Roald Dahl!

    Damn, my kids had better be readers, or there’s going to be trouble!

    • ohdizzle July 11, 2012 at 10:31 am #

      Watch — our kids will be jocks and totally not into reading. I can just imagine yelling at them to stop playing outside in the nice weather and come in and read! It would basically be the opposite of my childhood. 🙂

  3. Zen July 10, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    Harry Potter should be on top of any list! It’s always best to introduce the kids to a world of magic and imagination early on. =]

    • ohdizzle July 11, 2012 at 10:31 am #

      I want my kid to be looking for his acceptance letter to Hogwarts! Hopefully, he won’t be too disappointed.

  4. Angela @ AJ Arndt Books Blog July 10, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    Love your choices. Your bookish children are very lucky 🙂

  5. Tanya Patrice July 10, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Awesome list idea and choices.My own kids, and plan on sharing more from the list with them.

  6. renee July 11, 2012 at 7:54 am #

    Love this list! And what a great topic. The only 3 I haven’t read are the Olivia books, The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate, and the Ramona books. But I love the rest. I remember re-reading “Alexander and the Terrible . . .” to some children I was tutoring a few years ago and loving how cute and funny it still was.

    And of course, Harry Potter. No questions! You certainly didn’t need to explain it. If I ever have kids, they WILL love Harry Potter. And they will be made to read the books before they ever see the movies (I like the movies too, but we all know the books are where it’s at).

    Also, loved your reasoning on “The Secret Garden,” haha. Gotta start them early. With HP too, they’ll be dying to go to England! If I have kids, I’ll read them Madeline too, so that they’ll hopefully fall in love with France 🙂

    • ohdizzle July 11, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      I remember loving “Alexander…” as a kid. I think everyone from the age of 2 on can understand what it’s like to have the world’s worst day.

  7. kylaroma July 11, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    The last two were some of my very favourite when I was growing up- I loved Sideways Stories from Wayside School! I have a book my mom used to read to me, called “Five Minutes Peace” about a harried elephant mom trying to get five minutes of peace from her sweet, loud crazy elephant babies. It’s such a sweet book, and is exactly the kind of chaos I can’t wait for when I have kids 🙂

    • ohdizzle July 11, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      Aw, that sounds like such a sweet book! I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  8. Melissa July 11, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    This is such a wonderful list! I don’t have kids yet, but I save YA and childrens books I love to share with potential kids one day.

  9. Kayleigh July 11, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Great list! I haven’t read quite a few of those – I’ll have to pick them up. Definitely my main motivation for having kids (eventually) will be to read old favourites and play with legos again. I know I’d have to share the war guest series by Kit Pearson (The Sky is Falling, Looking at the Moon, and The Lights Go On Again). And the Oz books, of course.

    • ohdizzle July 12, 2012 at 11:43 am #

      I remember reading The Wizard of Oz as a kid and loving it! I never read any of the others in the series though. I may have to pick a few up at the library.

  10. dana fitzgerald July 17, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    I have a lengthy list of childhood faves: http://happywithlimes.wordpress.com/2012/07/08/favorite-childhood-books/

    • ohdizzle July 19, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

      Hi Dana! The Dollhouse Murders TERRIFIED me as a child. So scary! I never trusted my dollhouse again.

  11. Genevieve July 18, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    This is my first comment on your blog (which I love by the way)! My bookworm children will read all these books plus one…did you ever read “The Phantom Tollbooth” as a child? That was the first book that really carried me away… at least in my memory, since I read it in 3rd grade and I don’t remember much before then!

    • ohdizzle July 20, 2012 at 10:22 am #

      Gen! I looooooved The Phantom Tollbooth. I remember accidentally leaving it out in my backyard overnight, and finding it the next morning, swollen and ruined thanks to the dew. I was so upset! I think of it sometimes when I’m feeling down and in the doldrums.

  12. messymotto July 20, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    I loved having the Little House books read to me as a kid! Definitely hope my kids will love them like I did. And I agree with Genevieve, The Phantom Tollbooth is a classic.
    I recently read a few contemporary children’s books for a class, and Each Little Bird That Sings is a great one to add to the list.

    • ohdizzle July 20, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      Each Little Bird that Sings looks great! Definitely added to the TBR list. Thanks for stopping by!

Give me a shout!

