Friday Fun Day – July 13th

13 Jul

I loooooove this sign at the new, delicious Mendocino Farms sandwich shop. Shouldn’t we all be striving to eat happy as much as possible?

What I Learned

  • There’s a cat video festival happening in Minneapolis! WHAAAAAAA! The world is finally fully appreciating the high art of the cat video. Finally.
  • Tiny Tim was almost named Puny Pete. Scarlett O’Hara was almost a “Pansy” O’Hara. Nancy Drew could have been Diana Dare or Stella Strong! So many great alternate character names at this Mentalfloss blog post!
  • Dinosaurs had sex in pretty much the exact way you would expect. From this pretty great article, I mostly learned that there are a whole bunch of scientists out there for whom dinosaur sex was a passion. Oh. And there’s pictures at this link too. Enjoy giggling at them, if you’re as amazingly mature as I am.
  • Oh, I also learned that signing up for health insurance is confusing. I’ve been lucky enough to have a job for the past four years that has really good coverage, so I’ve never even had to think about it. Now that I’m going to grad school, it gets more complicated, expensive and plain old bewildering. Do I pay tons for a good plan? Do I just rely on the student health center? Why isn’t bungee jumping covered? What if I want to bungee jump?!?! WHY IS THIS SO HARD?

Links

7 Responses to “Friday Fun Day – July 13th”

  1. Choose Carbs July 13, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    I found your blog in a comment on yes and yes. I saw on your about page that you’re moving to Austin, which is where I currently live. I’m working on a masters at UT and will hopefully finish it this summer. I know a few people in Information Studies and they seem very happy with the program. Anyway, let me know if you have any questions that a random person on the Internet can answer.

    • ohdizzle July 13, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      This comment makes me love the internet. 🙂 Thank you for reaching out and saying hello! I’m a bit scared of the move I have coming up, so it’s nice to know that there are friendly people out there! Do you have any recommendations for Austin must-dos/must eats? Or any other Austin based bloggers I should be reading? I’m trying to get myself amped up for the move, and I think having things like that to look forward to would help! 🙂

  2. Laura July 14, 2012 at 6:53 am #

    Oh Obama, you awesome awesome man! Needed that link today, so thanks!

    Also, I’m sorry getting health insurance is so crazy confusing! Come and live over here and you can get operations and stuff for FREE (weird, I know!) 🙂

    • ohdizzle July 15, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

      Believe me, I had that thought! If I just moved back to the UK, I wouldn’t have to be thinking about any of this…Come on, America! Get with the times!

  3. Sarah Von July 14, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    I CANNOT believe that cat video exhibit will be happening when I’m out of the country. I have half a mind to email The Walker and complain 😉

    • ohdizzle July 15, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

      Demand more cat video exhibits! I think that would make the world better for everyone!

  4. The Hook July 18, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    Certainly sounds like fun!

Give me a shout!

