On Trying New Things.

16 Jul

This gorgeous print is by Etsy seller Thewheatfield.

For anyone who reads this blog regularly, I think it’s been pretty obvious that there has been a teeny, tiny amount of stress in my life recently. Just a bit. As I’m going through more huge life changes now than any other point in my life that I can think of, I’m struggling with anxiety, worries, bad dreams and just keeping everything in fricking perspective. At times, I have difficulty seeing past the moment to the good things that have to be coming.

So, in order to try to get excited about the next year, I’ve decided to do one of those “Try ___ new things before you turn ___” lists, like my blogging hero Sarah VonΒ and many others. I’ll be turning 28 in a little less than a year, so I have plenty of time to try 28 new things. I’m going to try to keep the list vaguely Texas/Austin themed, as there’s going to be a whole bunch of new, very non-Californian things to try. I could use this list as a push to really get out and see my new city and meet new people (SCARY). Β And hey, doing this will give me more things to blog about, which is always good!

A few items I’m considering:

  • Run a 10k race!
  • Go line dancing!
  • Eat BBQ at Lockwood!
  • Go to a Meetup event!
  • Bake a decent cake NOT using a mix of any kind (cookies and pies I have down, but cakes elude me)!
  • Buy real cowgirl boots!

I’m working on putting together a full list by the end of the week, but what are some of your suggestions? What would be on your list of new things to try?Β 

14 Responses to “On Trying New Things.”

  1. Looks & Books July 16, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    This is a good idea, but may only add to your stress! I know it would for me, anyway. Maybe you should give yourself some leeway, and just call this a list of aspirations, to do when you know it will make you happy rather than by a deadline. Anyway, some suggestions may be to take a day trip on your own, take more photographs, write letters to your loved ones, or take a class! Good luck with all the stress–I’m in a similar boat!

    • ohdizzle July 16, 2012 at 11:46 am #

      I like the idea of seeing it as aspirations! Although they are certainly goals, I’m hoping that seeing it as a list of super fun things I get to do will help me start looking forward to fun stuff coming up. I think you’re right about not being too hard on myself about it though. No need to add to the crazy!

      And I think I’m going to steal the take a class and write letters goals! πŸ™‚

  2. renee July 16, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    Taking more pictures is always a good goal! Especially if you’re living somewhere new. My sister did a project last year where she had to take at least one picture EVERY DAY. It turned out great– she got lots of pictures of everyday moments that she wouldn’t have taken otherwise πŸ™‚

  3. Laura July 16, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Cake! Make cake! Always cake!

    Um. Let’s see. I would add visiting a new state (obvs if that’s financially viable!) and, um, I dunno, shout at the *crazy* texans? (Ok, that was harsh. No more of that!) And, like, learn a new skill like sewing or knitting or something?

    Also, WRITE ME LETTERS! I mean, I realise you may actually want to write to people you actually know, but also, I LOVE POST, so, yeah. πŸ˜€

    • ohdizzle July 17, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      Dude, I would totally send you Texan postcards! You can e-mail me your address if you want at msutton@gmail.com. Pen pals! πŸ™‚

  4. Jessb July 17, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    What a cool idea! I have done a similar thing, although a bit more informally, and have been really delighted with the results.

    I would suggest doing something touristy in your own city (like taking a ghost tour, or a shopping tour), seeing a band or going to a musical thing you wouldn’t usually go to (like Irish dancing or Country and western) and trying food from another culture.

    Good luck! I’ll be delighted to see the finished list, and see how you go.

    • ohdizzle July 19, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      Great recommendations! I definitely want to go to more concerts this year. And I always love finding new foods!

  5. shebenjicookie July 18, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    i love this idea! i am cursed with chronic laziness and procrastination, having lived in london 3 years and barely seen anything, so i think i will have to make one of these lists myself.. if only to feel less like a hermit. if you have any ideas for must-do experiences in london, do tell me!

    • ohdizzle July 19, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      Ooh, I’d definitely recommend getting fancy afternoon tea at a hotel like the Savoy; going to Highgate Cemetery; doing a touristy, but fun, river cruise to Greenwich; and going to a show at Shakespeare’s Old Globe. I loved all those things when I lived there!

  6. dorannrule July 18, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    You are young. I am old. You are inspirational. Think how much time you have to try many many new things! πŸ™‚ Love your blog and I’m following you!

  7. The Hook July 18, 2012 at 6:06 am #

    I’ve written a book.. Does that count?

  8. funnyphuppo July 19, 2012 at 5:18 am #

    I have my bucket list ready. I just wish I spent more time on making it reality. I have learning to fly (I am an aerospace engineer so that is obvious), Eastern classical singing lessons, horse-riding and learning to play the flute on my list.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 28 New Things. THE LIST. « ohdizzle - July 26, 2012

    […] I wrote last week, I’ve decided to come up with a “28 Awesome Things to Do Before I Turn 28!” list, […]

Give me a shout!

