Podcasts You Should Listen to NOW.

19 Jul

As a Los Angelena, I spend a lot of time in my car. As you may have heard, we have a little thing called traffic here, which means that even the two mile jaunt to Target can end up being a teeth grinding, expletive filled, death march. Aw, LA, I’m going to miss you.

While you’re stuck in your car for hours, you may as well make the best of it. Some people prefer audiobooks or the melodious voice of Ryan Seacrest djing for the Top 40 radio station, but I prefer podcasts. Podcasts are usually the perfect length for someone with a short attention span like me (15 minutes to an hour), and I love that they cover anything you can imagine. Plus, they keep me distracted enough that I don’t decide to ram the jerk BMW in Beverly Hills who keeps switching lanes at high speeds. That’s definitely a good thing.

Also, I’ve recently discovered that podcasts make awesome workout playlists. Sure, they don’t have the same beat that your music playlist does, but they offer continuous distraction, instead of changing every three minutes. I find this helps me a lot on my longer runs.

Now, there are some classic podcasts out there that you’re probably listening to already (This American Life, Radiolab, Savage Love, etc), so I’m not going to go into those. I figured I’d just highlight a few newish ones that I’ve gotten a kick out of lately.

So, without further ado, here are a few new to me podcasts that you really should be listening to if you aren’t already:

The Truth

Oh my gosh, you guys. This podcast is amazing. They advertise themselves as “movies for your ears”, and that’s pretty much exactly what they are. These are fictional tales written and performed for the radio. It’s like the old radio dramas people listened to in the 1920’s and 30’s, but much more modern. “In Good Hands”, the two parter about the urban explorers who find a society in an abandoned subway is chilling and absorbing. Can’t recommend The Truth enough!

KCRW Strangers

KCRW, my local NPR station, does some really fantastic stuff, and the Stranger podcast is up there. It’s hard to describe the theme of this podcast, so I’m going to steal the description from their website:

The podcast is “about the strangers we meet, the strangers we become, and the “strangeness” we might overcome when we find ways to connect in the modern world.”

Basically, they tell some damn good stories. “Falling Slowly” had me sobbing in my car,  “The Waxing Virgin” really made me think about the relationship between religion and bodies, and “And Justice For All” had me fluctuating between ridiculous laughter and heartbreak. Listen. Now.

Slate’s Double X Gabfest

This is probably the most well known and longest running of the three, but I get super excited every time a new Double X podcast comes up on my podcast feed. Run by the ladies of the Double X blog at Slate, this podcast is about “womens’ issues”, but that’s very loosely interpreted. The women discuss such diverse topics as the trend of viral commencement speeches, attachment parenting, and the Amanda Knox case. They are engaging, intelligent, opinionated and funny hosts. I just wish they would podcast more than twice a month!

 

Any recommendations for me?

4 Responses to “Podcasts You Should Listen to NOW.”

  1. younggypsyspirit July 19, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Definitely going to have to check into podcasts. I spend my whole life behind the wheel.

  2. Nora July 20, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    I work 45 minutes south of where I live, so needless to say, I drive quite a bit during the week. I’m super excited about both, The Truth and Slate’s Double X Gabfest. I’ll be looking into them today! Thanks for the suggestions!

    • ohdizzle July 20, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      Ohhh they are so good. Enjoy!

  3. Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) July 21, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    I’ve never listened to the Double X podcast, although it’s always been on the list of ones I’d like to try. I like that it’s only twice a month — it’ll be harder for me to call behind if I do start listening 🙂

Give me a shout!

