28 New Things. THE LIST.

26 Jul

Say YES! to new things and people.

As I wrote last week, I’ve decided to come up with a “28 Awesome Things to Do Before I Turn 28!” list, inspired by the super amazing Sarah Von of Yes and Yes. It’s pretty Texas/Austin themed, as the purpose of this list is to get myself jazzed about my new city. It’s hard to make all these changes, and hopefully pushing myself to get out there and explore will help. Plus, now I have built in topics to blog about! Woo!

So, without further ado, here it is! THE LIST!

1. Go to a Meet-Up

2. Swim in Barton Springs

3. See the Congress Bridge bats!

4. Go to at least three concerts.

5. Buy real cowgirl boots.

6. Go line dancing.

7. Go to the San Antonio Riverwalk.

8. Go to the LBJ Library.

9. Eat BBQ in Lockhart, the BBQ capital of Texas!

10. Swim in a natural lake/creek/swimming hole. Hamilton Pool, perhaps? Or Krause Springs?

11. Run a 10k.

12. Take a road trip to a yet to be determined Texan destination.

13. Write snail mail to friends and family.

14. Take my fancy camera out for a day in Austin.

15. Explore the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center. Take photos.

16. Bake a cake FROM SCRATCH.

17. Run one of those goofy themed 5ks. A zombie run? A color run? A mud run? They’re all good.

18. Volunteer (can’t be library/school related!)

19. Eat a breakfast taco!

20. Join a rec sports league. Kickball, perhaps?

21. SXSW!

22. Attend a Nerd Nite Austin event.

23. Attend a special movie event at Alamo Drafthouse Cinema.

24. Go to UT football game. Hook ’em!

25. Grow fresh herbs aka don’t kill all the plants that come into your possession.

26. Try three new fitness routines. Pilates? Belly dancing? Barre? Biking? Boxing? So many options!

27. Go to a rodeo.

28. Hike the Barton Creek Greenbelt.

 

So that’s it for now! Texas isn’t looking so scary now, huh?

 

What would be on your list? Anything I left off?

8 Responses to “28 New Things. THE LIST.”

  1. the usual bliss July 26, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    I am loving all of the ‘countdown’ lists people have going these days! I started on a while ago- 101 things to do in 1001 days. Check it out here: http://theusualbliss.com/life-list/
    Looking forward to following your adventures…!

    • ohdizzle July 26, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      Thanks! Love your list! Sounds like you have a busy 3ish years in front of you. 🙂

      • the usual bliss July 26, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

        I kind of liked the idea of having a lot of time to do some of them… and the ‘easy’ stuff has been the hardest so far!!

  2. Laura July 26, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    All this activity… I’m exhausted for you! (although spread out over a year… I guess it’s ok hehe). If you would like a very good cake recipe then email me and I will send you my favouritest vanilla cake recipe- I’ve made it about a zillion times and it’s never failed me! 🙂

  3. Ruoda July 26, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    This is fantastic! I think it’s incredible that so many people settle with defining their post-college life with routines and predictability. It’s so common to find people who limit this vast universe to just going through the motions of work, trying to get that next promotion, and frequenting the same bars and faces on weekends. They wonder why their weeks feel so mundane compared to those from their younger years when they were filled with energy and an unrelenting desire to explore new things.

    I blogged about it: http://blog.roundcourt.com/post/26299120102/unleash-your-inner-explorer. Good luck and looking forward to following your progress!

  4. ordinarylifeisextraordinary July 26, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    Go visit Gretchen on South Congress Street on Saturdays. She is a jewelry artist and has a booth in the Artist Market.She sells her beautiful creations on the weekends. The name of her company is Blue and Blackbird. Have fun Austin is a great city! The bats are awesome fyi :).

  5. Meg Granger (@MegsGranger) July 26, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    SUCH a great idea for getting to know your new city. And I hear Austin is incredible.

    I lived in San Antonio for 9 years of my young life, and one of the things I remember most fondly about Texas is the wildflowers. Every spring, there are wildflowers absolutely everywhere…especially in the freeway medians. Blue bonnets, black-eyed Susans…ugh…you’ll love it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 28 New Things: ATX photo tour! « ohdizzle - February 7, 2013

    […] In an attempt to combat the lazy, I headed out to downtown Austin recently to take a few shots with the good old DSLR. This outing was also one of the things on my 28 New Things list! […]

Give me a shout!

