What I Read This Week: 8/2/12 – 8/7/12

8 Aug

I did it! I finished The Hobbit! 

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I read half of this novel earlier in the summer, but personal life stuff got in the way. After warily eyeing it on the bookshelf for about a month, I decided that enough was enough. I needed to finish the stupid book.

Thoughts? I don’t think I’m a fantasy/adventure sort of person…especially when I split the book into two parts. The Hobbit consists of a variety of different adventures, that all fit together somewhat, although that doesn’t really seem to be the point. I feel like Tolkien was more interested in spinning a few yarns, rather than how the plot flows. I ended up feeling pretty lost through a lot of it, though, again, it could have been due to the way I split the book up.

The Hobbit is more about Bilbo Baggins’ scrapes than anything else, and that’s the charm of it. Bilbo is a sweet character. I love his reluctance to be involved in any of this hubbub. I can feel him on that. Good food, cozy home…why would anyone want to leave? I just wish the book focused more on his inner dialogue and less on this battle and that battle and this king and that king. Yep. I sound like a girl.

But hey! I can say that I actually read one of Tolkien’s works all the way through! High five me!

5 Responses to “What I Read This Week: 8/2/12 – 8/7/12”

  1. wildacademicwoman August 8, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    It is one of my favorites! I read it when I was in sixth grade and it got me reading the entire young adult fantasy section. I didn’t pick up fantasy/sci fi as much as an adult but I’m glad I read Tolkien.

  2. dorannrule August 8, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    I am impressed… have never read it! May give it a try though. Note: I have nominated you for two awards at once – the Versatile Blogger Award and the Beautiful Blogger award. See details at http://countryliving4beginners. 🙂

  3. shadowoperator August 8, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    “The Hobbit” behind, now it’s time for “The Lord of the Rings,” an adventure of the spirit (even though historically speaking it’s now a bit sexist–except for the horse maiden–and ethnocentric). For a more modern world-creator with a greater degree of looking at interior motivation, try Daniel Heath Justice and “The Way of Thorn and Thunder: The Kynship Chronicles” (now out in a trilogy three-pack omnibus edition). It’s new and “genre and gender bending,” and you might like it more than you like Tolkien. I’m only on the 4th chapter, and already I’m recommending it to everyone I blog with, nearly.

  4. Laura August 8, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Aw, I love Bilbo! I can’t remember that much about this (or, I think what I can remember I got mixed up with LOTR…) but I do remember liking it. Having said that, I’ve been having a bit of an aversion to fantasy of late (or maybe I just don’t like how Stephen King does fantasy…) so I’m not sure how much I’d like it now. Hmmm… something to think about re-reading, so thanks for that!

  5. missionabspossible August 8, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    that’s funny, I’m currently reading that right now for the first time. I’m about half-way through. I do find it interesting but a bit boring at times. I get distracted easily. It tends to go on and on and on but looking forward to finishing it and knowing that I read it at least once in my life!

Give me a shout!

