Relaxing Bedrooms.

9 Aug

This move has been growing to epic proportions of crazy. My brand new A/C unit in my car went out somewhere around Phoenix, so I drove in the heat the rest of the way. The same broken A/C unit caused my car to die completely this evening, as I was driving back to the apartment where my parents were doing their best to put together a ridiculously difficult new desk. The poor car is now at the mechanic. My phone barely, barely works in my apartment, so I have to figure out some weird technological set-up so I’ll actually be able to use it in my room. Um, yep. It’s been stressful.

So as I am slowly unpacking and putting together my room, I’ve decided to look for inspirational images of peaceful, but usable spaces. What do I look for when looking for a peaceful room? I mostly go for light, bright spaces that bring the outdoors in. I also love cool colors, mostly. And vintage touches are always appreciated!

Thanks to Pinterest, you can see exactly what I mean:

Bright white walls, books, and a casual bed? I would love to just hang here.

This may be a kid’s room, but I don’t care. I love the branch as decor and all the vintage touches! That quilt is to die for!

Florals. Florals everywhere. Add in plain walls, a funky vintage headboard and some big, bold flowers on the bedside table? I’m sold.

 

This room is just a dream. I’m sure it would actually prove to be a logistical nightmare due to those crazy sloped ceilings, but having that view would be worth it.

 

More florals, this time with green touches and an unconventional bedside table.

 

The best headboard? A window to a forest view. If I had this bedroom, I don’t know if I would ever leave.

Just so you know, my room won’t look like any of these. I’m going to consider it a victory if I just don’t let it devolve into a pile of dirty clothes and school papers. Maybe these pictures will inspire me to keep things at least somewhat neat. Maybe.

4 Responses to “Relaxing Bedrooms.”

  1. Laura August 9, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    Ooooh, love the flowery bed… and the first room with the books… Oh, to have my own room all to myself again! *sigh*

  2. wildacademicwoman August 9, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    I’ve been using Houzz as a source for inspiration. Cool pics!

  3. JessB August 13, 2012 at 5:12 am #

    I went away this weekend and was completely inspired to do over my bedroom when I got home. I changed my sheets – and then decided I had to move house. So we’ll see how that goes!

    Good luck settling into your new place, I’m sure you’ll make it your own in no time.

  4. Shenee Howard (@heyshenee) August 13, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    So, yes I am procrastinating from work/enjoying your awesome blog! Hope it doesn’t freak you out! 🙂 I am also in the process of trying to decorate my tiny bedroom and counting it a victory if I can get a plant or something in there. I LOVE the one with the floral b bedspread. That seems the most doable for me 🙂

Give me a shout!

