Top Ten Tuesdays: Isn’t it Romaaaaaantic?

14 Aug

I have missed the past couple of Broke and Bookish Top Ten Tuesdays, as I was too busy moving/stressing/unpacking/procrastinating unpacking to actually write a post. So here we are…me trying to return on a week that is all about which book romances would work in the real world, when I hardly ever read romances. I don’t think I’ll be able to make it to ten, but heck, I’ll try!

  • Mr. Bingley and Jane Bennet from Pride and Prejudice

So, yes, Lizzie and Darcy are the focus of Pride and Prejudice, but I think that Jane and Mr. Bingley would be the marriage that would last. As Mr. Bennet says, “I have not a doubt of your doing very well together. Your tempers are by no means unlike. You are each of you so complying, that nothing will ever be resolved on; so easy, that every servant will cheat you; and so generous, that you will always exceed your income.” They both are sweet, they both are agreeable, they both are satisfied.

  •  Jo and Mr. Bhaer from Little Women

Just like everyone else who read this book as a youngster, I couldn’t believe it when Jo turns down Laurie’s proposal. WHY? Laurie’s dreamy! (especially when he’s played by Christian Bale in the movie version).

You like books, Christian Bale Laurie? OMG ME TOOOO!

As a grown-up though, I get it. Laurie is a bit too much. As much fun as it may seem to have a bit of a crazy, take no responsibility 18 year old boyfriend, having that as a 35 year old husband would suck. So, Jo ends up with boring old Professor Bhaer. Yes, he’s not a firebrand, but I think they would have a good, lasting, solid relationship and end up with a million kids, as you see in all the sequels to Little Women.

  •  Mr. and Mrs. Weasley from the Harry Potter Series

If you can live in a run down burrow with 7 crazy redheaded kids and not enough money, and you still love fighting off death eaters together, you’re in it for the long haul. I basically want to be the Weasley family when I grow up…with maybe a few less children.

  • Emma and Mr. Knightley from Emma

Emma and Mr. Knightley are probably my favorite Austen couple. She’s feisty, smart, good-hearted but a bit oblivious, while he is funny, laid-back, and witty. He can bring her back to earth (or at least, try to) after her crazy flights of fancy. They seem to have so much fun together. I would love to go to a dinner party hosted by these two!

  • John Keats and Fanny Brawne from their Collected Letters

Yes, this one is cheating, as these two were a real life couple…but guh. Reading those love letter will break your heart over and over again. John Keats definitely knew what to say to rip a few petticoats. And I would like to think that they would’ve lasted if the darn consumption hadn’t cut Keats’ life so short. Maybe it was just young lust, but that wouldn’t make for such a lovely story, would it?

You have ravish’d me away by a Power I cannot resist: and yet I could resist till I saw you; and even since I have seen you I have endeavoured often “to reason against the reasons of my Love.”  I can do that no more – the pain would be too great – My Love is selfish – I cannot breathe without you.

Yours for ever
John Keats

  •  Clare and Henry from The Time Traveler’s Wife

I was so into this romance. I really was. Clare and Henry just seemed so real and so lovely. And the idea of meeting someone who has always loved you and will always love you is enchanting. Thanks for messing up my view on relationships, Audrey Niffenegger. Geez.

….And that’s it. I’m out. I really need to read more romances. Any suggestions?

8 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesdays: Isn’t it Romaaaaaantic?”

  1. ameliaclaire92 August 14, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    I love The Time Traveler’s Wife. I want relationship like Clare and Henry too!

  2. kaye August 14, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    you can’t go wrong when you choose a Jane Austen romance. And I love Jo and Laurie. kaye—the road goes ever ever on

  3. Brianna's Happy Life August 14, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Lucy and George in E. M. Forster’s A Room With A View. A passionate kiss, a broken engagement, and a secret wedding in Italy? Yes please!

    Also, my favorite love story in Pride and Prejudice also the one between Jane Bennet and Mr. Bingley. It may not have as much drama as Elizabeth’s but I love it! Great choices.

  4. Krystianna August 14, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    Awesome picks! I didn’t even think of usinng Arthur and Molly Weasley on my list!

  5. A Bookworm Belle August 14, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    Loving the Time Traveler’s Wife pick 🙂

  6. Laura August 15, 2012 at 5:18 am #

    I do agree with Jo and Prof Bhaer (even though, JO AND LAURIEEEEEE!) but oddly I also think that Amy and Laurie would work really well together in real life too. Even though I hate Amy. But really only child Amy, I GUESS. And yes to Mr Bingley and Jane! Love them 🙂

  7. Christy August 16, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Yes to Emma and Mr. Knightley! I was always a fan of them. Have you read Middlemarch?

    • ohdizzle August 16, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      I haven’t, but it’s been on my to read list forever!

Give me a shout!

