Friday Fun Day – 8/17/12

17 Aug

Well, I’m trying to at least!

Another week gone. This one has been better in some ways, increasingly frustrating in others. I finally got my car back from the mechanic with a fixed air conditioner…only to have it break again 15 minutes later! I feel like I’m a bit on a roller coaster — lots of ups and downs and no idea what’s coming at me next. I never would’ve guessed that having car problems in a new city would throw me for such a loop, but it definitely has! Ugh. Hopefully next week will bring good news about the car.

The good is that I’m beginning to see the charms of Austin a little bit more — people are ridiculously friendly, there are some really beautiful running trails, and there always seems to be something going on. I’m keeping busy, which is good.

What I learned:

  • Oh good! I can finally get black diamonds crushed up in my nail polish! It’s only going to cost me $250,000. I’m worth it!
  • Birds won’t explode if they eat rice! I don’t know why I never even questioned that urban legend. I just figured it had to be true, for no reason at all. We can hurl rice at brides and grooms again! WOOHOO!
  • LOIS LOWRY IS COMING TO BOOKPEOPLE! Oh my gosh. You guys. The Giver was the book that showed me that books aren’t just fun to read, but can actually be worth really thinking about. It was a big deal to a 10 year old. I have re-read it a kabillion times. And now, Lowry will be reading from the sequel to it, here in Austin. Am I going? HELL YES. Am I going to get all weirdly emotional and cry? Maybe.

Links

One Response to “Friday Fun Day – 8/17/12”

  1. Brianna's Happy Life August 17, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    I love The Giver, and I am so jealous Lois Lowry will be there! I first read it in seventh grade and just read it nearly ten years later. Still amazing!

Give me a shout!

