Top Ten Tuesdays: Ten Favorite Books Since I’ve Started my Blog

21 Aug

The theme of Top Ten Tuesdays at Broke and Bookish this week is “Top Ten Favorite Books You’ve Read During The Lifespan Of Your Blog”. My blog hasn’t been around for all that long, but over the past five months I’ve read some pretty awesome stuff! Click on any of the books below for a link to my review. So, in no particular order:

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

 

The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff

Butter by Erin Jade Lange

The Best of Everything by Rona Jaffe

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

The Lonely Polygamist by Brady Udall

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

On the Banks of Plum Creek by Laura Ingalls Wilder

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

9 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesdays: Ten Favorite Books Since I’ve Started my Blog”

  1. Laura August 21, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    I loved Gone Girl, didn’t like Lonely Polygamist, and haven’t read the others. Secret History has been on my TBR forever though, and Butter sounds fascinating.

    • ohdizzle August 21, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      I highly recommend both Butter and The Secret History. They’re both deeply unsettling books, but in very different ways. They have definitely stuck with me over the past few months.

  2. Laura August 21, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Actually, it’s not true that I didn’t like Lonely Polygamist. I just didn’t like it as much as I wanted to.

  3. Oh man, Gone Girl is supposed to be awesome. My roommate left her bag on the train the other day, and was only upset that she had lost her copy of that book :-). Great TTT! Check out ours !

  4. Karis (YA Litwit) August 21, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

    Butter is coming up soon on my ARC schedule! Glad to know it was great!

    Karis @YA Litwit

    My Top Ten

  5. Anne August 21, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    I haven’t read any of the books you listed. Drat! Now I am more convinced than every that I will NEVER get all the books I want to read read, even if I read every moment of the day for a lifetime.

    • ohdizzle August 21, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      Haha, I know that feeling! I want to read all the books!

  6. TrishaDM August 21, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    I am currently rereading the Little House series and loving it… Possibly more than I did when I was 8. I was so excited to see this on your list.
    I had Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me on my list as well. Such a funny/realistic read.

  7. Kandee August 21, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    I really want to read Butter, it looks to die for and so raw. I love books like that. Seems like some kind of Ellen Hopkins book. Mindy Kaling is literally amazing, I mean, I cannot wait for her television series. I need to read her book! 😀

Give me a shout!

