Friday Fun Day – 8/24/12

24 Aug

A little bit of roller derby action from last weekend…Those girls are terrifying!

There are a few less links on here than usual. I’d like to say it’s because I got busier, went out with new friends a few times, read some deep book…and while that’s partly true, I also discovered Game of Thrones this week, and, well, things just haven’t been the same since. People kept telling me it was good, but IT IS REALLY GOOD. And gorgeous! So gorgeous. I may have to watch an episode or ten this weekend. Hope you all have more active plans than I do!

What I Learned

Links

  • This interview of RPatz by Jon Stewart was pretty darn sweet. I have a not so secret, but very casual, love for Robert Pattison. I don’t know what it is. He’s adorable, obvy, but I think he also seems fairly sweet and validly taken aback in just having his heart publicly tromped over. Hopefully Ben and Jerrys and Jon Stewart can help him out a bit.
  • Someone actually created a room on the other side of a wardrobe! What a dream for a kid! Heck, what a dream for me!
  • And here’s a whole batch of gorgeous bookshelf printed wallpapers. You can have a  huge fake library! Woo!
  • Feeling down? Maggie from Mighty Girl asked readers their reasons to be happy, and then put together a list of 180 of the responses! (Psst: I’m number 108!)
  • Dying over this fussy bulldog pup. Just dying.
  • And if you want something cat related, how about some free cat bookmarks to print out?
  • I am so glad Natalie Tran is back and vlogging again. I’m 99% sure that if I lived in Sydney we would be best friends. We could have super awkward hang outs. She gets me.
  • I would love to read Susan Cain’s book Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking, but it’s always out at the library! Introverts love the library? Who would’ve guessed? Anyway, watching her give her TED talk about the same topic will have to do for now. And yes! Down with group work! Gah!
2 Responses to “Friday Fun Day – 8/24/12”

  1. colgore August 24, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    I want that wallpaper so bad! I wonder if it would be weird if I wallpapered my entire apartment with it? I’m super jealous you saw a roller derby match. I want to be a roller derby chick so bad. I think it’s the only way a yogi can get away with intentionally knocking people down and fighting.

  2. Laura August 25, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    I really really want to read Quiet… but it’s a zillion pounds on amazon, and has a zillion reservations at my library, so… I’ll have to wait and not moan about it like a good little introvert. Although I am moaning about it to you, now. Hm.

    I truly believe roller derby is the coolest thing in the entire world- I want to go and watch soooome!

Give me a shout!

