Oh, you bad.

28 Aug

Dog-eared book ? -  Buch mit Eselsohren ?

This week’s Broke and Bookish Top Ten Tuesdays theme is bad book habits! And yeah, as much as I hate to admit it, I have a few…

  • I’m rough on books. The one that lives in my purse always gets beat to pieces. I dog ear. I fold pages. I break spines. As far as I’m concerned, books aren’t meant to be coddled; they’re meant to be used. Hard.
  • I read the first and last Twilight books, but not the two in-between. They’re as bad as you’ve heard, but I needed to see it for myself.
  • Every time I go to the library, I take out WAY too many books. I just can’t help it! They’re free, so I just add and add to my stack. Last time I was a the library, I took out eight books, even though class was starting in a few days. Oh, and then I renew like a mofo. Sorry everyone else who wants these books.
  • I have borrowed books…and then not given them back for months, years, and sometimes ever. In my defense on the last one, the person I borrowed the book from was a friend of a friend, and then my friend dropped the relationship. So I didn’t know how to get a hold of her again! Yeah, I know…I feel bad.
  • I’ve never read anything by James Joyce all the way through, except for a couple of his short stories. I’ve only read two novels by Charles Dickens. I’ve read nothing by Henry James. For an English major from a pretty traditional program, I have a lot of gaps in my reading.
  • I ALWAYS need to know how many pages are left in a book I’m reading. I have no idea why. It doesn’t matter if I love the book or hate it. I just need to keep a tally running in my head.
  • I hate leaving a book half read, so I’ll finish almost all the books I start, but I’ll hardly remember what happens in it. My reading comprehension becomes very half-assed.
  • I LOVE cookbooks, but I never ever cook anything from them.
  • I pretend I know a lot more about poetry than I actually do. I quote the same three poems over and over. “Dare I eat a peach?”
  • I end up sleeping with books in my bed many nights. I’m just too sleepy to put them on the nightstand. It’s, like, a foot away. Gah.

Forgive me, and don’t judge me too harshly. I know you have bad book habits of your own!

7 Responses to “Oh, you bad.”

  1. Alley August 28, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    I have pretty much the same reading gaps that you have, despite my English degree. I have no Joyce, 1/2 a James and 2 Dickens (Xmas Carol & Great Expectations).

  2. April Books & Wine August 28, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    I do the exact same thing with the running tally of pages left. I thought I was the only one! Good to know there are others out there with the same quirk!

    My TTT

  3. Kristina Ebert August 28, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    Yeah I am also guilty of keeping track what page I”m on and how many I still have left. I just want to devour it as fast as I can and I”m proud of myself when I read a lot of pages really fast (by my standards).
    YOu are bad, I can’t stand having my books ruined, I like them to stay pretty.
    I have 1 book I lent out that hasn’t been returned to me, thankfully that was my lending copy anyways so it isn’t that big of a deal. But I have stopped lending books when they would come back ruined, if I do send out a lending book I let me know it must not me dog earred and come back it the same condition or they can keep that one and buy me a new one 🙂 Yes I am one of those

    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/08/top-10-tuesday-22.html

  4. Laura August 28, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Renewing like a mofo- has to be done! I think I’ve had this Steve Jobs biography out since June, and I just renewed it today to the middle of September- that’s my way :). Oooh, and I like to know the number of pages I have left in books too! (The amount of times I’ve agreed with people today… I probably should have made my own list haha!)

  5. radicalhope August 28, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    There are way too many books in my house. Where I live there is a place to get free books. Truly free, no catch. I make sure I stay away, stay away, stay away.

    Once a week I volunteer at the local library and when a volunteer puts in a certain amount of hours, fines are eliminated. They may never get those books back.

    I do like to keep my books in good shape. I usually use bookmarks, at the same time I write notes in my books, but I try not to write in library books. Like I said, I try… Nobody’s perfect.

  6. caitlinstern August 28, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    I get way too many library books–and often have to renew, or read a book to make sure it’s done if it can’t be renewed.

  7. Christy September 2, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    I am the same way about library books. I renew to the limit with almost all the books. Sometimes I’ve even finished the book but I haven’t reviewed it yet, so I keep it around.

Give me a shout!

