Top Ten Tuesday: My Autumn To-Be-Read List!

4 Sep

This Top Ten Tuesday on Broke and Bookish, the challenge is to list ten of the books on your to-be-read list this autumn. Even in the first week of school, I’ve realized that I’m going to be doing more academic reading than fun reading. Boo. So, the books I’ve chosen for this week will be light-ish and fun to balance the 150 pg “articles” about preserving audio/museum audiences/information in the wild.

1. Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson


Who knew that the author of they horrifyingly creepy short story “The Lottery” had a lighter side? This is supposed to be a charming memoir about her family living in Vermont in the 1950’s. Sounds good to me!

2. Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise by Ruth Reichl

It’s tough for a famous food critic — you have to keep a low profile if you want to see what a restaurant is really like. I’m excited to read about Reichl’s struggles with this, as well as all the food she gets to eat!

3. Shelf Discovery: The Teen Classics We Never Stopped Reading

These essays about a ton of the books I read growing up will hopefully inspire me to re-read some of those great books!

4. In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson

How have I had this on my bookshelf for so long? I love Erik Larson! World War II is fascinating! Read it now!

5. A Separate Peace by John Knowles

Another book I’ve had on my shelf for a long time…years, in this case. The cover is just so darn autumn-y, plus it takes place at a fancy boarding school. Seems like the perfect fall read to me!

6. The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters

A haunted house novel, especially one by an author as talented as Sarah Waters, will be perfect for Halloween!

7. The Dud Avocado by Elaine Dundy

A young American girl goes off to Europe in the 1950’s and has a sexy, hilarious time. So down.

8. Fun Home by Alison Bechdel

A graphic novel about an eccentric family sounds like perfect study break material.

9. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson

This memoir is supposed to be hilarrrrrious. And, it’s never ever in stock at the library, which must mean it’s good!

10. The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

J.K. Rowling’s new book? Well, duh.

What’s on your list this fall?

10 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: My Autumn To-Be-Read List!”

  1. kaye September 4, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    It’s so fun to read everyone’s TBR lists–so many good books ahead. I do have to get my hands on J. K.’s book. Enjoy your Fall reading. kaye—the road goes ever ever on

  2. tomwisk September 4, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    One on my list is Stars In Their Courses by Shelby Foote. And some Phillip K. Dick

  3. Laura September 4, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    *flaps hands excitedly* Let’s Pretend This Never Happened! It’s amazing. And Fun Home is FABULOUS (I read it in a day because I couldn’t stop!) I’m reading The Little Stranger at the moment and I’m like… Hmmm, where are the lesbians? Because I’m not sure there are going to be any. And frankly, what’s the point of a book without them?

    • ohdizzle September 4, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

      A Sarah Waters book without lesbians??? I don’t even know how to compute that.

  4. Laura September 4, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    Fun Home is great. I’m reading Alsion Bechdel’s new one, Are You My Mother, and it isn’t nearly as good. I am also curiously looking forward to The Casual Vacancy.

    • ohdizzle September 4, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

      I just got Fun Home from the library this afternoon. Excited to read it!

  5. Renee September 4, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    I hope you like “The Little Stranger”! I love Sarah Waters. It’s not my favorite of hers, but it is very creepy. Perfect for this time of year!

  6. mamacormier September 4, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    ” The Little Stranger” wasn’t my favourite either but I loved “In the Garden of Beasts”. I am currently reading “Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern. I’m 86 pages in and it looks promising. A circus only open at night and one that appears and disappears without notice. A romance between 2 magicians who have been trained since childhood to compete against each other. Intriguing!.

  7. rossmurray1 September 5, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    I was disappointed with “Garden of Beasts.” Takeaway: Nazis were creeps.

  8. oilandgarlic September 6, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Just read Separate Peace this past summer. It’s a perfect summer or fall book and really gives you a sense of the changing seasons. Great book!

Give me a shout!

