Meet Cecilia!

10 Sep

Isn’t she lovely?

Lady bloggers of a certain age (and by certain age, I mean late 20’s to early 30’s), always tend to ride a bike. They take adorable pictures of their perfectly styled, almost always European style, bike carrying blooming flowers and baguettes in its wicker basket. The bloggers always manage to ride in a cute skirt and heels. It’s fricking adorable.

When I lived in LA, as much as I admired these bloggers, I knew I wouldn’t ride a bike. Yeah, I rode a bike (a gorgeous hot pink one!) as much as the next person when I was a kid, but riding in central LA means taking your life in your hands. LA is a car city — there are few bike lanes, quiet streets or other safe places to really ride. I know people who ride there, but they’re much more confident in their skills than I am. Plus, my apartment was so ridiculously walkable that I never even would need to ride. I could walk two blocks and be where I needed to be.

Moving to Austin changed my whole bike philosophy. While my apartment here is “walkable” too, it’s more like a mile or two walk to wherever I need to be. Streets are infinitely quieter and wider. Bicyclists are everywhere. It seems almost like a grad student requirement. You’re getting your masters? Get a bike.

So, I folded. And I’m glad I did.

Love. And yes, that is my gorgeous yard. Isn’t it lush and beautiful?

After visiting four bike stores on Thursday, I found Cecilia. She’s a classy, Italian (by way of Taiwan), cream colored, Bianchi Cortina. As soon as I got on her, I knew that she was the perfect mix of an upright, commuter bike and practical, geared bike (unlike the adorable Linus Dutchi I had considered earlier. Siiiigh.)

So, Cecilia and I went on an epic Friday all day date to really get to know each other. And 14 miles later, sunburned and saddle sore, I can say I know her pretty darn well.

We started with breakfast tacos, which is another thing knocked off my 28 New Things list! I’m happy to report that they were ridiculously delicious. I had one egg and chorizo and one egg and potato with salsa. HOW DOES CALIFORNIA NOT HAVE THESE!?!

Well, I ate breakfast tacos. Cee stayed locked up outside, as a good bike should.

From there, we headed down south, through downtown Austin, which was slightly terrifying, and over the Lamar pedestrian bridge.

Cee took in the views…

and I did too, in my super awesome, not dorky at all helmet.

Since it was 104 degrees, I decided McDonalds ice cream was in order. I offered to share, but the bike declined as she doesn’t eat.

Whatever. More for me.

After running a couple errands, we took in some weird mural art

and then went to yoga class.

After the big day out, we relaxed with some 30 Rock. I just wish Cee wouldn’t block the screen with her huge handlebars. Gah.

So, yeah, that was all a really silly way of telling you I have a bike now. It’s good.

Oh, and living in a city where you don’t know that many people comes in handy when you’re taking embarrassing photos of yourself and your bike. Just in case you were wondering.

4 Responses to “Meet Cecilia!”

  1. shadowoperator September 10, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    Hey, I too got a bike when I went to graduate school! Mine was a Peugeot racing bike, which I had to have once I’d ridden it a few times around the showroom. It remained nameless, but I feel guilty about that now. Anyway, I was in Toronto, which is probably one of the most bike-friendly cities you can imagine, or was then, anyway. Once I somehow got twisted around and fell off my bike in the middle of a busy intersection. Promptly, traffic ceased in four directions, and everyone waited for me to get up, get back on, and continue where I was going. Not a single car horn rude or impatient blow, not a single shout or rude expression of annoyance! I had the bike for several years, but when I tried to ride her in Buffalo traffic, there was glass all over the streets, which punctured the tire and innertube. When I brought her home, my mother insisted that I give her away to a charity. Now, someone else is riding her, and I hope getting just as much enjoyment. By the way, I don’t know what Austin is like, but in some U.S. cities, you have to take the seat off and take it in where you’re going with you so as not to have it stolen–just a (perhaps totally unnecessary) warning. Enjoy!

    • ohdizzle September 10, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

      I’m so glad you got out of that traffic incident unscathed! Sounds like it was pretty scary. Props to nice Toronto drivers!

      And thank you for the warning about the seat! Austin does have a lot of bike theft, so I always make sure to lock it up as securely as possible, but I hadn’t thought of that!

  2. Laura September 10, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    I am highly amused! You and Cecilia are clearly meant to be, and I hope you have many happy years together 😉

    ps I still need you to email me your address! I has postcards!

    • ohdizzle September 10, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

      Oh, thank you for the reminder! Sending it now!

Give me a shout!

