Top Ten Tuesdays: Think!

11 Sep

After some consideration and a mild freak out about my new insane schedule, I’ve decided that this will be my last Top Ten Tuesday post for a while. It’s a bummer, as my top ten nonfiction books post really got my blog going (It’s still my most searched post. Most people viewing this blog are looking at that one post!), but it’s time consuming to put together these lists, and I don’t have too much time to consume right now.

Who knows? If the weekly topic moves me, I may bring back this feature! So, never say never!

But, for now, I  leave you with a few books that will make you think, as that was the theme this week.

1. Sophie’s World: A Novel About the History of Philosophy by Jostein Gaarder

I am not a philosopher in any way, shape or form. I find it all baffling. Reading Sophie’s World forces you to stretch your mind in many different ways as young Sophie learns all about the different important philosophers. Almost a textbook, this one will stick with you.

2. Anything by William Faulkner

I read As I Lay Dying my first term as an undergraduate English student, and it made me doubt my abilities. So confusing! I finished off my last term before graduating reading The Sound and the Fury. Sure, it still twist and has a whole bunch of different viewpoints with very particular voices, but I actually got it! Apparently, I learned something at college.

3. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Cloud Atlas is a collection of stories that take place in such disparate as a 18th century sailing vessel, 1970’s California and a post-apocalyptic wilderness, and yet they all connect. Plus, Mitchell arranged them like those Russian doll toys — they nest within each other. It messes with your brain a bit, but in a good way!

4. We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

What would you do if your kid was a psychopath? How did he get to be this way? What is a mother’s love? Is it intrinsic? I still can’t get these questions out of my head after reading it a couple months ago. It lingers.

5. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

What is real? Who is being haunted? Who is writing all these footnotes? Whose story, really, is this? Part art piece, part novel, part online cult, House of Leaves is nearly indescribable.

6. The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera

One of my friends, after reading this, couldn’t stop defining people by their “lightness” or their “heaviness”. We put a lot of thought into trying to figure out if we were heavy or light. I consider myself heavy, in case you were wondering.

7. Happenstance: Two Novels in One About a Marriage in Transition by Carol Shields

One marriage, two entirely different narratives. I remember this blowing my mind a bit, and making me realize at 20 that I would never truly know my future spouse. Commence freak out.

5 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesdays: Think!”

  1. Laura September 11, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    House of Leaves is a crazy book. I’m also reading Cloud Atlas right now, and really enjoying the “nesting doll” effect as you aptly called it.

  2. Etol Bagam September 11, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    I read Sophie’s World in my teenage years and it sure blew my mind and stuck with me.
    Don’t know the others, but liked the idea of the Cloud Atlas. Adding it to my list of books to read. Thanks!

  3. stuckinva September 11, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Okay, I think House of Leaves just shot to the top of my “must hunt down and read” list. There’s just something irresistible about a fiction book with footnotes…

  4. Laura September 11, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    I did half a Philosophy degree (it was a joint honours with English, not… I only have half a degree…) and I believe that certain people in my classes (snobs) were a bit like ‘ugh, Sophie’s World’ but I think that book is AMAZING, both just as a story (literally blew my mind!) and as an introduction to basically all the big philosophers. Seriously love it!

  5. Angie September 11, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    House of Leaves and We need to talk about Kevin are on the top of list.
    Thanks for posting all these great books!

Give me a shout!

