What I Read This Week – 9/20 – 9/26/12

26 Sep

I read two books this week! TWO! I had a light reading week for school, so I had a little more time to read for myself. Loving it.

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel

 

 

 

absent, sometimes raging father. He obsesses about historically preserving the family’s home and the garden, but can’t seem to connect with his children in any meaningful way. Only as the author accepts her own sexuality in college does she learn the truth about her father’s own personal, secret struggles. She begins to understand him, as things swiftly fall apart.

The images accompanying the story are stark, simple and yet full of detail and emotion. It’s easy to get lost in the pages of Fun Home, thanks to both the art and the images. It gets just as hard to see your way out as it is for the characters to see the ways out of their mixed up lives.

Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson

I remember clearly the first time I read Shirley Jackson’s classic short story, The Lottery. I was in the 8th grade, and a chilling reminder of the danger of group think was exactly what I needed. All of a sudden, I couldn’t look at my half asleep classmates the same way. Would they turn against me without a thought? Would I turn against them? Dear God!

If anyone wants to read that story again (or for the first time!), you can find the full text of it here.

With “The Lottery” ringing in my mind, I picked up this memoir as soon as I saw it in the library. The memoir focuses on Jackson’s move to the country with her hapless husband and perpetually ill-behaved (or at least erratic) children. Who doesn’t love children in books who actually act as insanely as kids in real life? Armies of imaginary daughters, an obsession with a potentially very dangerous bicycle accident, never ending nonsense singing…this sounds like most kids I know.

While the book never reaches the genius of “The Lottery”, it is still amusing and a light read. It’s the perfect antidote to heavy articles about the proper team dynamics in large state history museums, at least.

One Response to “What I Read This Week – 9/20 – 9/26/12”

  1. Laura September 26, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Duuuude, everyone is reading Shirley Jackson at the moment and loving it, which excites me because I’ve got The Haunting of Hill House all ready to read :). And The Lottery is SO excellent.

Give me a shout!

