What I Read This Week: 10/11 – 10/17/2012

17 Oct

Divergent by Veronica Roth

There are days when I am way too wiped mentally, physically and emotionally to actually string together a few sentences, and when the book is as blah as Divergent, I don’t really feel an obligation to. SO HAIKU TIME

Inspiration

Veronica Roth,

Did you read The Hunger Games?!

That’s a dumb question.

Setting

Chicago is gone

Dystopia to the max

Let’s not explain it.

Characters

Unpleasant young folks

that’s the only people here.

Yep, this will be fun.

Romance

It’s YA fic, right?

Add a cardboard love interest.

It’s a requirement.

Violence

Violence is cool now.

The Hunger Games made it so.

It’s crazy edgy!

Yep, unimpressed. I’m beginning to think this is just how I am with YA lit. Maybe it’s time to stick to grown-up books.

3 Responses to “What I Read This Week: 10/11 – 10/17/2012”

  1. Jill October 17, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    I felt the same way. I really hated this book. The characters are boring, flat, and unlikable, and enough with all the violent dystopian stuff please. So done with it. I’m planning on sticking to the adult stuff from now on too.

  2. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) October 17, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    Duuuude, I’ve always secretly felt like this book might actually be like this (don’t ask me why, cause I think it might just be the cover…) but everyone raves about it so I’ve been like, ‘well, maybe…’ so THANKS for unveiling the evil truth about it! Haha

  3. JessB October 20, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    “Maybe it’s time to stick to grown-up books.”

    Nooooooo!

    Have you tried The Maze Runner, by James Dashner? It completely blew me away, I found it absolutely thrilling and have recommended it to quite a few friends, who all enjoyed it too. It’s dystopian (as per usual, these days), but the setting and main characters were really unusual and really well-written. It’s the first in a trilogy (again, as per usual, these days), and I didn’t find the second two books as compelling as this, but had to read them to find out what happens.

    Highly recommend it!

Give me a shout!

