Friday Fun Day — 10/19/2012

19 Oct

Oh, the grackles of Austin. Too many. Way too many.

What I learned:

  • A simple baked sweet potato is one of the world’s easiest, most delicious foods.
  • Season 1, episode 6 of Breaking Bad is when shit. gets. real. I watch on my phone as I do the elliptical machine at the gym, and I may have freaked out my fellow gym goers with my gasps and yelps.
  • East Coast swing is easy, spinny and a good time for all. West Coast swing makes no sense and may lead you to step all over your partner’s feet…and the feet of everyone within a five foot radius.

Links:

  • Ah, the beauty bias. Everyone knows it exists; no one wants to talk about it. This beautiful post really made me think about the way I see others, and the ways that others see me.
  • If you’re looking for new software for your Mac, this bundle from Macheist is a steal! It includes Scrivener, Evernote and Disktools Pro plus a ton of ridiculous games for $29! And 25% of the $29 goes to charity! Get it get it!
  • There are few things I want in the world more than this USA bookshelf.
  • Self-help from a toddler. There’s some great advice in here! Screaming in a cat’s face is ALWAYS a great idea!
  • The Danxia Mountains in China look like they come out of a technicolor dream! Must go!
  • If you aren’t following Trotter, the world’s most adorable French bulldog, on Instagram already…I pity you.
  • This catcalling article much more eloquently summed up my thoughts on the issue than I ever could.

There is a reason it’s referred to as a catcall and not a humancall: when you’re catcalled, there’s no consideration of your distinct personhood or even of your humanity because you’re being appraised as an object, a body without a person inside of it.

 

2 Responses to “Friday Fun Day — 10/19/2012”

  1. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) October 19, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    *Thinks about s1, ep6 of Breaking Bad* oooh, shit DOES get real in that episode! And maaaan, that’s TAME compared to… basically everything that comes after it! OMG 🙂

  2. Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) October 21, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    I love having a sweet potato for dinner. I like one with black beans and cheddar cheese.

Give me a shout!

