Crying in my beer.

22 Oct

I have a friend who is my music guru. Not only does he have fantastic taste in music, but his almost encyclopedic knowledge covers almost every genre. I’m looking for great mash-ups? I ask him first. Looking for soul jams about the sexytimes? Yep. He’s got it covered. And he’s the ONLY person I turn to for hip hop advice. He knows his stuff.

You need to get a friend like this if you don’t have one already. I’d loan him out, but I’m selfish and don’t want to share.

Anyway, we started playing a really fun game via gchat the other day — what’s the saddest old-timey country break up song? By trying to constantly one up each other, we ended up with a decent few that made me want to get in to bed, close the curtains, and never leave. Really. It’s a fun game. You just may need a drink by the end.

So come on down to where the beer is cold, the voices are pure, and the cowboys (and cowgirls) are heartbroken:

George Jones, “She Still Thinks I Care”

Oh, the pride. Oh, the pain.

“Just because I haunt the same old places
Where the mem’ry of her lingers ev’rywhere
Just because I’m not the happy guy I used to be
She thinks I still care”

 

Patsy Cline, “I Fall to Pieces”
Really any Patsy Cline song would work pretty well. She knew how to sing about the gut wrenching moments of a break-up. This is just my personal favorite.

You want me to forget, pretend we’ve never met.
And I’ve tried and I’ve tried, but I haven’t yet.
You walk by and I fall to pieces.

 
Guy Clark, “Dublin Blues”
And how could I leave out a gorgeous song that calls out Austin by name? I couldn’t find a super great version of it on Youtube, but this one works. You really should find this song on Spotify…well, unless you’re feeling particularly sensitive. It could be damaging to the heartbroken.

I wish I was in Austin
In the Chili Parlor Bar
Drinkin’ Mad Dog Margaritas
And not carin’ where you are.

But here I sit in Dublin
Just rollin’ cigarettes
Holdin’ back and chokin’ back
The shakes with every breath


 

Lanie Lane, “Oh Well, That’s What You Get For Falling in Love With a Cowboy”
And this is to cleanse the palate a little bit, because, after all, you fall in love with a cowboy, and you’re asking for a bit of heartbreak, right?

If you’re vying for his attention, not enough affection for you.
Find yourself a thing to do now, don’t be crying that’s below you.
Oh well, that’s what you get falling in love with a cowboy.

 

Please add your favorites! I need more music!

3 Responses to “Crying in my beer.”

  1. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) October 22, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    I can’t even tell you how much I like country music, BUT I basically only know Dolly Parton! As in… whenever I hear a country song I’m just like ‘yessssss, now I’m in an Annie Proulx short story’ but I literally don’t know any artists or anything!

    This is my way of telling you that I’m not recommending anything and just listening to your recommendations. I’m sorry.

    General music recommendation: Anything by Joni Mitchell ever. 🙂

  2. nope October 22, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    definitely on the short list for best breakup song ever:

  3. Katie Glenn October 23, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    This doesn’t fit the category but the last song reminded me of this song…

Give me a shout!

