Thankful.

22 Nov

 

I may not be home for Thanksgiving this year, but I still have a lot to be thankful for.

  • Family. DUH. In all their crazy, awesome glory. I’m bummed to miss Thanksgiving, which is normally a few hours of loud talking, dogs running everywhere, fantastic food and then epic Trivial Pursuit matches. It’ll all just have to wait until Christmas.
  • Old friends who are a second family. They talk me through my life crises, large and small, recommend awesome music, and even come to visit me in my new city. I always knew I was lucky to have fallen in with these folks, but it has just been confirmed over and over again this year.
  • New friends! There have been a few ladies who have been key in helping me feel at home in my new lifestyle and new city.  So. Thankful.
  • Perfect weather days. Austin isn’t always an oven! WOOO!
  • My body. It moves, it runs, it shimmies, it stretches. There are times that I feel like I’m in constant battle with it, but as I exercise more, I’m coming to appreciate it for its possibilities, instead of cursing it for its limitations.
  • Jobs that fund me, challenge me, and introduce me to awesome folks I wouldn’t know otherwise.
  • Food. Oh, food. Yes, it’s a love/hate thing, but after eating some sashimi this afternoon that actually made me close my eyes and just savor the flavors of the fish…yeah. Thankful
  • And, to finish it off, the goofy pets I’ve had. To get you in the happy spirit, here are some of the dogs that crashed my family’s Thanksgiving celebration last year:

HAPPY THANKSGIVING TO ALL!

2 Responses to “Thankful.”

  1. shadowoperator November 22, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    Dogs are great, but somebody please remember to save a small slice of turkey (or better yet, a cooked and mashed up turkey liver pate) for Trixie! Cats are thankful, too!

  2. jsca72 November 22, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    And you and your sister were very missed. We love you!

Give me a shout!

