28 New Things…Update!

29 Nov

Remember how I made that 28 New Things list a few months ago…and then barely ever wrote about it? Yeah. That.

The good news is that I have managed to do a few things on that list without even having to try too hard. The bad news is that I’m too exhausted to write about each thing in great detail. So, lucky reader, you’re going to get the super quick version of what I did. Better than nothing at all? Perhaps…perhaps.

THREE NEW THINGS:

1. Go to a Meetup!

I actually did this twice in my first month of living here, and it was a great way to meet friendly people. I went to a young professional happy hour and a book club meeting. Now, fair warning, these can feel a bit like single events even if they aren’t advertised as such. I wasn’t particularly prepared for that, which led to some slightly awkward interactions…because I’m just that smooooooth. But, all in all, Meetup is a great way to get out of the house and meet people, especially if you’ve just moved to a new city. I keep meaning to go again (especially to the book club. Books and alcohol? What’s not to like?!), but now that I have a busy schedule, things keep getting in the way. Maybe next semester.

(FYI, there is a photo of me at one Meetup event on Facebook somewhere, but since I’m smiling like a chimpanzee trying to intimidate an enemy,  I figured it was better not to post it.)

2. See the Congress Bridge bats!

So, the Congress Avenue Bridge in downtown Austin accidentally created a perfect bat habitat when it was refitted in the 80’s. During the summer, 1.5 million bats hang out and sleep all day under there, then all stream out to eat a ton of  bugs at night. It’s become a Austin tourist thing to sit in the nearby park and watch the bats swarm. Yes, it’s weird, but it’s also awe-inspiring. SO. MANY. BATS. They make a massive cloud that is silhouetted against the lake and the sunset…and it’s oddly beautiful.

The bats fly over Austin

I sometimes run on the path underneath this bridge. I wouldn’t recommend doing that. 1.5 million bats stink.

3. Eat BBQ in Lockhart, the BBQ capital of Texas!

When my parents were here, we headed out to Lockhart and ate at Black’s, one of Texas’ oldest bbq joints. Good brisket, great sauce and, of course, wonder bread to soak it all up. The decor is all folding chairs and paper towels. No fancy allowed. It’s a good thing Lockhart is a ways out of Austin. Fatty brisket gets me every time.

Black’s BBQ! See, I take photos every so often.

So, yes, I am doing things on that darn list. It’s just the writing about doing those things that is the hard part.

3 Responses to “28 New Things…Update!”

  1. rossmurray1 November 29, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    More bats, fewer mosquitoes. Or are there mosquitoes in Austin? I feel ignorant even asking that question. I feel there should be. “Mosquito” has a nice Tex-Mex tang to it.

    We have a bat house built onto the back of our house. It’s like a birdhouse only (der!) for bats. It was my wife’s idea. She’s (wait for it….) batty! Alas, the bat house, like my sense of dignity, remains empty.

  2. Natalie November 29, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    I like these goals! I may have to visit Austin and try them out too 🙂

  3. Kas-a-fras November 29, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    My boyfriend grew up in Lockhart and swears by their BBQ. Love your posts and I hope Austin is treating you well!

Give me a shout!

