2012 – A Year in Books

27 Dec

Slide1

A successful year indeed! I got my book count up quite a bit, and I’m not sure why. It seems that the whole going back to school thing would have gotten in the way, but I think it really was this blog that kept me on track. Plus, I did read a whole bunch of middle grades literature, which tends to be quick, easy reading.

This year was all about memoirs, food writing, children’s lit (including some old favorites), and some of the newer American novel type books. I even got a bit more genre-y than I usually do, with a few mysteries on the list and a western.

Next year, I hope to read more classics (I’ve let those slide a bit since ending my English degree), more nonfiction and more children’s literature just to keep things light.

Here’s how everything ended up this year:

What were your favorite books this year? What are you planning on reading in 2013?

3 Responses to “2012 – A Year in Books”

  1. jamesfantbooks December 27, 2012 at 5:38 am #

    My favorite book this year was 11/22/63 by Stephen King. It was my first King novel and it revealed that Stephen King is not a horror writer. He’s a storyteller and a really good one at that.

    Your book count is admirable. I think that the goal of one book a week is often outdone because some books are easier to read than others.

  2. Renee December 27, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    I’m also really excited about reading “Quiet” next year. I just finished “The Age of Miracles” a week ago and really loved it, so I hope you do too! It might have been my favorite book of the year. Happy reading in 2013! 🙂

  3. Kateknits December 27, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Oh my gosh you’ve been busy. I think I may have gotten through 3 or 4 books all year. Awesome!!!

Give me a shout!

