28 New Things: Color Run!

7 Jan

IMG_1671

The secret to happy running? Hire a ton of people to throw colored corn starch at you.

Seriously. Even though I may have been out VERY late the night before celebrating the end of the semester, my awesome friend Emily and I got up early on Saturday morning to run the Color Me Rad Austin Color Run 5k.

We started with white shirts (and awesome sunglasses)…

IMG_1652

…and ended up completely colorful:

IMG_1670

The race is untimed, so, if you’re a bit crazy about running times like me, you can just relax and enjoy yourself instead of obsessing about running a sub-30 minute 5k. This gives you plenty of time to chat about important topics such as Kate Middleton’s pregnancy and laundry tactics for getting cornstarch stains out of tennis shoes.

Oh, and you may look a bit beat up after the race, as all the colors wash off easily except for blue, which just fades to a nice bruise-ish color.

It’s all worth it. I’m already plotting my next 5k adventures. Anyone up for an obstacle course next?

IMG_1660

4 Responses to “28 New Things: Color Run!”

  1. estherkimchi January 7, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    Love it! I did a color run last year and am gearing up to do another one next month. Hope you’re doing well 😀

  2. heykerryann January 7, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    This is so awesome! I’m super inspired by your running journey. “Learning” to run is one of my semi-secret goals this year. I’m so bad, it’s embarrassing. H. and I just bought a treadmill so I can get better in privacy, instead of flailing around in public. Someday I hope to run in a 5k…the color run looks so fun!

    • ohdizzle January 7, 2013 at 10:43 pm #

      That’s a great new year goal! Start slow (and have a kickass ridiculous running playlist), and I’m sure you’ll get there soon. Believe me, if super unathletic/slowest kid in PE can do it, anyone can. And I’d highly recommend a color run as a first race. It’s the lowest pressure event ever.

Give me a shout!

