Living History

10 Jan

So, you know how I constantly complain about how busy I am? Well guess who decided to add to the load for spring semester? Oh yeah. This guy.

I discovered Jourdan-Bachman Pioneer Farm through my museums class last semester, and I totally fell in love. This small farm is in North Austin, not that far from downtown, and yet it feels as though you’re way out in the country when you visit. There are all sorts of historical structures that have been moved in from all over Texas, tons of animals (including charming, ridiculous donkeys, ornery Longhorn steer, sassy chickens, and a very mellow barn cat named Peanut Butter), a very peaceful creek, and, of course, a whole bunch of people walking around in period clothing. Yes, it’s kind of corny. And yes, I love it.

070212 Pioneer Farms Feature

I made sure that my term paper for the course focused on the living history farm, so I could go back a few times to explore the grounds more and meet the staff. It’s clear that the farm is an effort of love. It’s run entirely by volunteers, but everyone seems super excited to be there. And I was thrilled when the head told me he’d be happy to bring me on as a curatorial volunteer!

070212 Pioneer Farms Feature

I start my curatorial volunteer position there on Saturday. I’m helping to photograph and inventory their entire artifact collection, as well as putting together a brand new exhibit about the local Tonkawa Native American tribe. I. Can’t. Wait.

And do I have to wear a prairie dress? I have made it clear that I’d rather not be a costumed interpreter, but I’m willing to fill in if they need me. And yes, if I ever end up in a costume, pictures will certainly be taken.

I can only hope that I look as sexy as this lady:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mmmmmm… Prairie chic.

One Response to “Living History”

  1. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) January 10, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    Wait, you DON’T want to wear a costume?! See, for me that’d be the main appeal… 🙂

Give me a shout!

