28 New Things: Concerts, Concerts, Concerts!

17 Jan

When I moved to Austin, I decided that I would really need to take advantage of all the music here. I started out slowly, but I finally got it together during the amazing Austin Free Week and checked out a few awesome concert venues here. I didn’t go based on bands, because I hadn’t heard of any of them, but they ended up being pretty amazing too!

I first checked out Antone’s, which is kind of a known, old school venue in downtown Austin. It had a good feel, though it was similar to most small venues I’ve been to. Small stage, big floor, long bar. All you really need, right?

Looking for a throwback soul sound? Try Larry g(EE).

 

The other venue I checked out was The Mohawk…twice over three days.

IMG_1825

Native American bears love music too.

The Mohawk is a multi-level place with both outdoor and indoor performance spaces. Super hipster vibe, with portraits of men with amazing facial hair adorning the walls. They also have a couple of stuffed bears, one of which looks out over the indoor stage. That bear wears a pretty awesome Indian feather headdress.

The man in the hat above is the lead of Chris Catalena and the Native Americans…a Bob Dylan-esque sounding band, who I pretty much fell in love with. This YouTube video doesn’t do their music justice, but they are playing on top of a van. How could I not include it?

A few nights later, I saw the Shivery Shakes there — a band who play with a garage band, high school type joy.

 

 

And then, last night, I got to see the Austin phenom Shakey Graves at The Parish. Good Lord. This guy is getting a lot of press around town right now and for good reason. He’s a one man band, but certainly doesn’t sound like it. Between his guitar picking skills and his kick drums, his music is amazingly layered. Add in a soulful, raspy voice, and I’m 100% sold. He’s doing free shows at The Parish every Wednesday this month…I may just have to find my way back next week.

So, yeah, I’ve hit the go to three concerts goal…and then some. Thank you, thank you, thank you Austin for being so accommodating to the poor and music loving.

One Response to “28 New Things: Concerts, Concerts, Concerts!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Link Love « Lyss.me - January 24, 2013

    […] I’ll end this with an awesome video I found via Mandy of an Austin, TX musician called Shakey Graves. This guy is like a one-man-band street performer […]

Give me a shout!

