What I Read This Week – 1/16/13 – 1/23/13

23 Jan

Two books? During the first week of school/work/volunteering/social engagements? Girl. You crazy.

Well, both books I read this week were short, easy, engaging reads, so I can’t take too much credit.

Fair warning, I spent tonight writing a statement of purpose for internship applications (keep your fingers crossed for me!), so these reviews will have to be brief…and perhaps nonsensical. We shall see.

the kid

The Kid: What Happened After my Boyfriend and I Decided to Go Get Pregnant by Dan Savage

Full disclosure: I’m a huge Dan Savage fan. I listen to his sex advice podcast The Savage Lovecast religiously. I go crazy anytime he’s on This American Life (his story about his mother’s death on TAL made me pull over because I couldn’t stop crying). I think his It Gets Better Project is pretty special. Heck, I even watched Savage U on MTV and found it to be pretty funny and sensitive to college students’ sex concerns! Although he can be abrasive and I know a lot of people don’t agree with his advice, I’ve come to love his rants, appeals and straight-up, very frank way of talking about sexuality.

So, I came to this book expecting to enjoy it, and I did. Savage and his boyfriend Terry decide to adopt a child in the late 90’s. Even after deciding to go through a very liberal, open adoption agency in the Pacific Northwest, they worry that their status as a young gay couple will get in the way. Even though (spoiler) they do get chosen, they quickly realize that there’s more to adoption than they thought, as their birth mom is a tough, runaway kid who drank and did drugs through the first part of her pregnancy.

Although Savage is an engaging writer, this book can be a bit ranty and loose. I’d already heard some of these rants a few times over on the Lovecast, but they could be more interesting to someone who hasn’t been listening for a couple years.

Even though I had heard some of it before, I did enjoy The Kid for it’s upfront discussion of adoption, parenthood and the hard decisions we all have to make.

dark places

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

After enjoying Gone Girl so much this summer, of course I’m going to read all of Flynn’s thrillers!

I don’t want to write too much, as, with most thrillers, the joy of this novel comes from discovering the twists and turns for yourself. Libby was a child when her mother and two sisters were brutally murdered in her house. She escaped and testified to have her brother put in jail. Now, as an adult, she has been enlisted by some true crime enthusiasts to re-visit the crime. WHAT WILL SHE DISCOVER???

This book was brain candy, but still gritty and believable enough to not feel like pure fluff. The characters are not extremely likeable, just as it was in Gone Girl. Also, as in Gone Girl, the story is told by a few different narrators, who all fill in pieces of missing information.

Very enjoyable, and even a bit scary. Read it.

 

One Response to “What I Read This Week – 1/16/13 – 1/23/13”

  1. Kimberly January 23, 2013 at 5:34 am #

    I’ve read Dark Places! I just love that book! I really want to read Gone Girl!

Give me a shout!

