Pop Culture Blind Spots Confessions

24 Jan

I was talking to a friend who recently discovered that the girl he’s been seeing has never seen the STAR WARS MOVIES. I know. Crazy. Who is this person?!

Well.

I can’t say that I don’t have my own pop culture gaps that make people claw at their faces in frustration when I tell them. I usually try to not bring But, as I trust you oh internet peoples, I’ll tell you. Just don’t make me feel too bad, k?

The Godfather…any of them.

Godfather

Yep. An American classic with THREE MOVIES, and I haven’t seen any. It’s about mumbling old men right? And horse heads? Or something?

Hook

hook

Yeah, not nearly as much of a classic as The Godfather, but it really pisses my children of the 90’s peers off that I haven’t seen it. You know, I feel like this is one that you HAVE to see as a kid…because it looks pretty terrible to my adult self. Mid-90’s Robin Williams as a man child? No. Nonononononono. But if I was ten again? yesyesyesyesyesyes.

Quentin Tarentino’s entire filmography…almost

tarentino

So, I was going for the gold in having never seen a Tarentino film, and then I was finally worn down by a boy and made to watch Pulp Fiction. That was last spring. Hey, I made it to almost 27 without seeing any of them! Pretty darn good!

This comes up mostly on dates. I swear. Guys constantly want to reference Kill Bill, or they ask if I’ve seen Django Unchained. Inglorious Basterds? Reservoir Dogs?! You’re SURE you haven’t seen ANY of the  Kill Bill movies?!?!?!

Nope, and I don’t particularly plan to. But hey! I saw Pulp Fiction! What more do you want?! Geez Louise.

Look at me go. Blowing guys’ minds. All the time.

(I would like to thank Tarentino for saving my favorite LA movie theater, The New Bev. Stand up thing to do!)

I can’t be the only one? Fess up! What are your big pop culture blind spots?

16 Responses to “Pop Culture Blind Spots Confessions”

  1. smashingthroughlife January 24, 2013 at 6:02 am #

    As far a pop culture blind spots go, I’ve never watched a single episode of The Jersey Shore. Not even out of morbid curiosity. And I’ve pretty much never seen a Daniel Day Lewis movie. Other than Gangs of New York. I’ve also never watched the Shining from beginning to end! Omg too many confessions for one morning!

    I like you’re blog! I’m interested to see more.

    • ohdizzle January 24, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      Don’t think you’re missing too much by not seeing The Jersey Shore…well, Snooki is interesting in the can’t look away from a car wreck way.

      I’m glad you’re here! 🙂

      • kingmidget January 24, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

        Actually, if we’re going to get into TV … I have never watched a second of The Simpson’s.

  2. qiquan January 24, 2013 at 6:31 am #

    Is it so important not to have seen a movie? I like movies but I do not think I can remember most of them after watching.
    KC

  3. kingmidget January 24, 2013 at 6:40 am #

    I think I’m with you on the Tarantino films except that I haven’t seen Pulp Fiction either. Add to that … never saw a Star Trek movie, never saw E.T., until Skyfall never saw a James Bond movie.

    • ohdizzle January 24, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      I forgot about James Bond! The only one I have seen is Goldeneye. I should work on that.

      • kingmidget January 24, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

        After seeing Skyfall, I’m not sure I need to work on more James Bond movies.

  4. angieeatspeace January 24, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    Eek, I am one of those never seen a Star Wars movie people. I have also never seen the Big Lebowski and that elicits gasps from people.

    • ohdizzle January 24, 2013 at 9:56 am #

      My friend’s girl isn’t alone! 🙂

      Yeah. I’d probably gasp at you about The Big Lebowski. Sorry! 😉

  5. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) January 24, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    I haven’t seen Star Wars either! It’s *terrible* except I don’t really care? (I have seen parts of The Phantom Menace and ZOMG awful.)

    Hmm, let’s think… I do make a kind of conscious effort to like watch pop culturey things because I like understanding references to such things in cartoons, so I think I don’t have too many gaps in my knowledge but… I bet I actually do.

    Ugh, I’m going to be thinking about this FOREVER now! But… Dude, you need to watch The Godfather (One and Two. Not Three. Never three.) and ALL THE TARANTINO for reals. And I hadn’t seen Hook until I was aboutttt 21? And it’s really really good even when you’re an old person, I SWEAR!

    • Alley January 24, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

      Yes I have to agree with Laura, you need to see The Godfather One and Two AND you should watch Hook. Because if nothing else RUFIO

    • ohdizzle January 24, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

      I’ll watch The Godfather if you watch the ORIGINAL Star Wars, not the horrible 90’s movies. If nothing else, watch it for the young, super handsome Harrison Ford!

      I don’t know about Tarentino. I mean, Pulp Fiction was ok…but…eh.

  6. Alley January 24, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

    I’ve never seen ET. I’m not quite sure how I missed it but yeah, at this point I’m sort of “eh” oh seeing it. I think had I seen it as a kid it’d be a different story.

    • Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) January 24, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

      ET is not very good. But I was definitely too old to watch it when I watched it, so yeah.

      • ohdizzle January 24, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

        I was terrified of ET as a kid. I was sure he was outside my bedroom window, just waiting to attack me. It probably would’ve been better if I had missed that one.

  7. Kerry (@KerryAnn) January 24, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

    Oh Lord, there are SO MANY classic movies I’ve never seen. When it comes to older “dude” type movies like The Godfather…nope. Haven’t seen it. Not particularly excited about seeing it. If Dolly Parton was in it, then I would see it FOR SURE.

Give me a shout!

