What I Read This Week – 1/24/13 – 1/30/13

30 Jan

speak

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

You know how I have been struggling to find YA fiction that I really like? Maybe I should just stick with the YA books that get nominated for the National Book Award, because yeah. Speak was pretty darn good.

God. I shouldn’t try to write about books after spending all day reading petroengineering masters theses (I’m a petroengineering editor this semester. Stop it, I know you’re jealous), as I suddenly lose the ability to put thoughts that aren’t about fracking techniques together in any sort of meaningful way.

So, this is all you’re going to get.

Speak is about Melinda, the least popular girl in the ninth grade after she calls the police to break up a high school party where things went terribly wrong. She slowly devolves into a mostly mute, solitary existence, punctuated by very few bright spots.

That’s it. Really. Yes, it’s sad. There are some very, very tough subject matters explored in a head-on, yet sensitive way. The reader never feels preached at, which would be too easy to do in a book like this. And Melinda is a real character. Sometimes you want to wring her neck; sometimes you want to hug her until everything’s better. Isn’t it that way with most teenagers?

So please read it, then write more coherent reviews than I can. I’d appreciate it.

One Response to “What I Read This Week – 1/24/13 – 1/30/13”

  1. Kerry (@KerryAnn) January 30, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    Ugh, I loved this book so much too! But then again, I do NOT have to struggle to find YA I like, haha.

Give me a shout!

