What I Read This Week: 2/21/13 – 2/27/13

27 Feb

Flying can be a pain in the neck, as I discovered at Chicago O’Hare Airport where I had a four hour layover turn into a four and a half hour layover…and then a five hour layover…and finally a SIX HOUR LAYOVER. Yikes. At least we actually got to fly that night, as it was beginning to look as though I was going to have an unplanned stay in a Chicago hotel.

And the other good thing about all the airport time? AIRPORT BOOKS! I love reading a certain type of book on a plane. It has to be plot-driven, gripping and have decent characters. Really, it just needs to let me pass the time and forget that I’m being held up in the middle of sky by absolutely nothing.

I managed to get through two books during this trip.

fault in our stars

The Fault in our Stars by John Green

This book has been a darling of the book blogosphere, and I get it. Hazel is 16, ornery and a couple years post cancer, even if she’s not particularly healthy. She lives a life of parental influence, therapy meetings and marathons of America’s Next Top Model (a girl after my own heart), until she meets Gus, another post-cancer kid. Cue the romance!

I don’t usually do the YA romance thing, but this one worked. The characters seemed real, and although there were some pretty loopy plot devices in there, I was super down to go along for the ride. And, of course, this book made me cry like a baby as I was sitting on a plane. I’m pretty sure my seatmate was a bit concerned.

Sharp Objects

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

What’s better airplane reading than a Flynn mystery/thriller? I’ve read her other two over the past six months, so I decided it was time to finish up her writings and buy Sharp Objects. Not as good as Gone Girl, but certainly a thrilling ride. I found the ending a bit odd, but really, I was so pleased with being distracted for so long on a flight, I didn’t really care.

Camille is a reporter at a struggling Chicago paper. When it appears that a serial killer is targeting young girls in her home town, she is the perfect reporter for the story. Once she’s home, she quickly begins to unravel as her past, including her younger sister’s tragic death, is dredged up repeatedly. Is she caught up in something larger and more sinister than she expected?!?!

What books do you like to read on planes? Are you like me and choose lighter stuff, or do you go for the great novels you’ve been putting off?

5 Responses to “What I Read This Week: 2/21/13 – 2/27/13”

  1. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) February 27, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    I actually find it really difficult to read on planes, so I usually end up watching the movies. It’s really weird because I really don’t have a problem reading anywhere else!

    I need to read The Fault in our Stars because someone very kindly sent it to me, so reading another nice review of it definitely spurs me on!

    • ohdizzle February 27, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

      I can’t wait to hear what you think of it! It’s definitely lightweight, but I really enjoyed it.

  2. Rabbd February 27, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    Chicago airports are terrible. When flying I go a mixed approach of hitting up novels and then switch to catching up on podcasts. I can only read for so long before motion-sickness sets on.

    • ohdizzle February 27, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

      I love listening to podcasts when I fly too! What are your faves?

  3. Angie February 28, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    I am glad you enjoyed TFIOS!

Give me a shout!

