What I Read This Week – 2/28/13 – 3/6/13

6 Mar

brideshead

Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh

My feelings on Brideshead Revisited…?

I couldn’t care less. Seriously. And I feel guilty about it.

This is a classic! It’s about the British class system! It’s about the fading aristocracy! And silly, lounging, flamboyant university students!

MANDY! THIS BOOK WAS MADE FOR YOU!

And yet, I could not feel a single thing for any of the characters. I didn’t hate them (well, except for maybe when the protagonist wouldn’t go visit his children, one of which he had never seen, even when his wife begs him. Lovely.), but I just couldn’t rally enough feeling to like them either. I just…meh. I really don’t care. Ugh.

I know I’m in the minority here. People love this book. They point to Waugh’s beautiful sentences, which I did certainly notice. Waugh could write. Some readers talk about the interesting Catholic religious themes…which all went over my head. They point to the snarky British wit, which, although I am usually pretty good at catching, passed me by in this novel. No one else seems to be bored almost to tears. What is my deal?!

All I know is that it took me a full two weeks to read a 300 page book, and that two weeks included some uninterrupted reading time! As I am usually a super fast reader, that is so not a good sign.

Sorry, Waugh, I don’t think we’re meant to be. It’s not you, it’s me.

4 Responses to “What I Read This Week – 2/28/13 – 3/6/13”

  1. Jill March 6, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    I am totally with you on this. I really enjoyed the beginning, with Sebastian et. al. at the University, but after that, I could have cared less. I wanted to like it, and have many friends who like it, but I just couldn’t summon the energy to care about it. You’re not alone!

    • ohdizzle March 6, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

      I’m so glad it’s not just me!

      Poor Sebastian. Pretty much written out of the last 2/3 of the book.

  2. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) March 6, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    There is something to do with a teddy bear in this one, correct? I own this so I’m definitely going to give it a go at some point, but now I’m way concerned about it haha

    • ohdizzle March 6, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

      Yes! There is a teddy bear, who, unfortunately, doesn’t feature prominently.

      Definitely give it a try. I feel like us Brideshead haters are in the minority. 🙂

Give me a shout!

