Friday Fun Day – 3/22/2013

22 Mar
IMG_1994

Littlefield House on the University of Texas campus. Ridiculous.

What I Learned:

  • According to this fantastic 1940’s Disney cartoon about the wonders of menstruation, you CAN take showers when it’s that time of the month. WHO KNEW?! (really? People thought this was a problem? REALLY?). And some great advice: “Don’t let it get you down. After all no matter how you feel, you have to live with people.” Siiiigh. So true.
  • So, uh, you can buy the sweet Toyota Tercel Jesse drives in Breaking Bad. Yeah, so it may be a step back from my sweet 97 Civic, but my street cred would go through the roof!

Links:

9 Responses to “Friday Fun Day – 3/22/2013”

  1. kingmidget March 22, 2013 at 6:34 am #

    Good stuff this week!

  2. rossmurray1 March 22, 2013 at 9:04 am #

    Love those balconies!

  3. LogPoes March 22, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    Regarding the “can’t shower when you’re on your period OR YOU WILL DIE!!1eleventy!!”, I once knew someone who actually believed that. This was in the beginning of the ’90’s. In the Netherlands. Where we get taught about periods and things in grade school, so I was baffled and didn’t ask where she got her information from. I just figured she’d made it up, but apparently it was a common concern at some point. πŸ˜€

    • ohdizzle March 22, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

      Haha wow! I wonder what she thought would happen if she did shower…

      • LogPoes March 23, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

        She was seriously, completely 100% convinced that she would die immediately.

        I remember trying to find a logical explanation for her believing this, and the only thing I could come up with was that she must have misinterpreted the Psycho shower scene or something. I was SO confused. Still am, to be honest! πŸ˜€

  4. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) March 22, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    WAIT, you can shower when you have your period? I CAN’T BELIEVE IT! This changes everything!

    That Disney Princess song is the BEST THING EVER. Well, apart from the being allowed to shower ALL THE TIME now πŸ˜‰

  5. JessB March 23, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    Man, what a great list! I usually really like these, but today you just hit the nail on the head and I clicked like half of those links! Thanks heaps for sharing.

Give me a shout!

