Holi!

25 Mar

Holi! I’m all for a spring festival that involves throwing water balloons and colored powder on happy strangers. What could be better?

This Hindu festival celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the beginning of spring, aka the season of LURRRRRRVE.

The Hindu Students’ Association at UT put together a celebration on campus, and when a friend invited me, I knew I had to check it out.

IMG_2110

Before the madness…and after.

Students were corralled into orderly lines and given scoops of powder…then told to go crazy. I had blue thrown all over my shirt, yellow smeared down my cheek and purple hurled into my eye at full speed (thanks, friend. Thanks.) After the mayhem, my friend and I looked like Pollock pieces.

I’m pretty sure I’m going to be finding color in the nooks and crannies of my body for a very long time.

IMG_2104

A whole bunch of colorful, excited undergrads with the UT Tower in the background.

The Big Picture blog posted some fantastic photos of Holi from around the world back in 2011.

bp19

bp5

bp25

bp38

And if this seems familiar to you, could it because you saw me all colorful back in December when I did the Color Me Rad color run?

Happy Holi, y’all! Hope this spring has brought a bit more color into your lives!

2 Responses to “Holi!”

  1. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) March 25, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    Honestly, the more I learn about Hinduism, the more it seems like the way to go, religiously speaking! This just seems like such a fun thing to do!

  2. angieeatspeace March 25, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    What a fun and pretty celebration.

Give me a shout!

