April Currently.

1 Apr

in the woods

Gorgeous image by KristenMcCee on Flickr.

I am currently…

Planning…

Things are getting serious about my summer internship. I need to figure out where exactly I’m going, what I’m doing with my new to me studio apartment (more on that later!) while I’m gone, and how I’m going to finance the whole darn thing. Nope. Not stressful at all. I’m sure that this will be a cakewalk compared to next spring though when I’m job hunting. Yikes.

Running…

Not nearly as much as I should! I signed up to run my first 10k in two weeks, and yet I can’t seem to get myself together to train nearly as much as I should. I keep sticking in a mile or two before Zumba class, but I’m not sure if that’s really going to do it. If anyone has some awesome songs to add to my running playlist, I would appreciate it. I need the pep!

Eating…

TRADER JOOOOOOOOES! I made the trip down to San Antonio yesterday, because every so often a girl needs her Trader Joe’s delicacies! New favorites? Roasted coconut chips! So coconutty, so satisfying, and not all that bad for you! Also, those sea salt and turbinado sugar chocolate almonds are perfect for satisfying a sweet tooth. It’s one of the few candies that I can eat in moderation. Well, mostly. I also picked up coconut oil. Um, how exactly do I use that?

And good news! The Trader Joes that was supposed to go into downtown Austin seems to be perpetually stalled, but a Trader Joes is going into Rollingwood, a super close Austin suburb, in August! No more driving an hour and a half to get to a Trader Joes! Life changing!

Listening…

Kendrick Lamar. Man. He played a few shows at SXSW, and I couldn’t get into a single one, which was a major bummer. I’m still getting into the whole Kendrick ouevre, but I’ve had “Swimming Pools (Drink)” and “The Recipe” on repeat for a couple months now. “The Recipe” has particularly become my theme song. I mean, it is pretty much has everything I like — LA pride, a great sample, a driving beat and some dirty lyrics. That’s pretty much all I want in a rap song.

“Swimming Pools (Drink)”:


Okay, now open your mind up and listen to me Kendrick/
I am your conscience, if you do not hear me/
Then you will be history Kendrick/
I know that you’re nauseous right now/
And I’m hoping to lead you to victory Kendrick

“The Recipe”:

When you discussed your love for lust, just make sure you visit here first–

CALI!

Watching…

Documentaries! So many! Jiro Dreams of Sushi is just magical and makes you soooo hungry. First Position, which follows a few kids hoping to win a world class ballet competition, is fascinating. How are they so bendy?! Why are some of those parents so insane?! And How to Survive a Plague was a sobering look at the political activism that surrounded the AIDS crisis of the late 80’s and early 90’s. I thought I knew a good amount about that time, but apparently I was completely ignorant. I highly recommend all of them. And they’re all on Netflix Instant! Woo!

And if you’re looking for a non-documentary recommendation, check out Safety Not Guaranteed. Sweet, funny, poignant…and time travel.

Hoping…

That everything works out. I mean, that’s always the hope right? But wow. I really hope it right now. Who knew that your twenties were so uncertain and unsettled? Oh yeah. Everyone.

4 Responses to “April Currently.”

  1. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) April 1, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    Coconut oil! As far as I can tell, you melt it and put it in cakes and stuff? Unless you want to use it in your hair, in which case… I have no clue.

    It’s a very tricky thing, I’ve discovered!

    • ohdizzle April 1, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

      I’m pretty sure using it in my already oily hair would end up being the biggest mess ever! I will investigate using it in a cake, as one of my goals this year was to learn how to bake a damn cake anyway. 🙂

  2. JessB April 1, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    Good on you for training at all! I am suffering through a terrible cold, which means I end up sweaty and panting after I walk up a flight of stairs, let alone working out at all.

    Anyway, another blog I like often talks about coconut oil – you can find the posts here:
    http://www.sarahwilson.com.au/tag/coconut-oil/

    Good luck!

    • ohdizzle April 1, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

      Ooh, thank you for that link! And I hope you feel better soon! Doing anything while sick with a cold is the pits.

Give me a shout!

