Petty Fear of the Week: Hills!!!

4 Apr

Way back when I started this blog, I would every so often write about one of my sillier but totally true fears. If you want to look into my psyche, you can see these posts about evil swans and having my workout playlist investigated after I unexpectedly die.

This week….hills.

hilly-road

Dun dun duuuuuuun.

Looks tranquil, right? Peaceful? Lovely?

OH YOU ARE SO WRONG.

Sure, I can admire them from afar, but if you get me driving in a car and then make me stop on one of those hills…no good can come from it. My chest gets tight; I may hyperventilate; and I will definitely hate you. Maybe it comes from having a not particularly powerful car, but I’m always terrified that it’s going to slide backwards, careening into other cars and people and exploding into a ball of fire. IT COULD HAPPEN.

Honestly, this is one of the main reasons why I hate driving in San Francisco. There’s way too much hilliness going on there.

Proof? This is me standing on the street outside the house we stayed at in San Francisco for New Year’s Eve.

I may be smiling, but I'm dying a little bit on the inside.

I may be smiling, but I’m dying a little bit on the inside.

Even being a passenger in a car that was trying to park on that street made me want to just die. I still don’t understand how the car didn’t roll down the hill. It makes no sense. None.

So the next time you see a girl with panic in her eyes sitting at a stop sign at the top of a steep hill, take pity. It just might be me.

Give me a shout!

