28 New Things: Run a 10k!

15 Apr

If you have been following this blog for a while, you may remember that I started running about a year ago, along with some other healthy life changes. Over the course of the past year, I have logged hundreds of miles, turned down countless cookies, and have lost almost 40 lbs. I will write about my weight loss at another time because, believe me, I have many, many thoughts on it, but for now I want to focus on what I’m most proud of. At some point in the past year, I became a runner.

I have run miles in the rain. I have run in the Texas summer heat. I have tripped and fallen hard in the middle of the road. I have dodged cars in LA and clueless pedestrians on the Town Lake trail here in Austin. I have watched the sun set over lakes and creeks. I have found new little corners of my favorite cities. I have entered the running zone where all my heart and lungs suddenly seem to get it, and I feel like I can run forever. I have started runs feeling anxious and sad, and I have ended those same runs feeling invincible and light. If you’re curious, I wrote about many of the reasons for why I run here.

So how to celebrate a year running? Enter the Longhorn Run 10k of course!

I dragged myself out of bed at 6:30 AM (why do all races have to be at such ridiculous times?!), ate some breakfast, then headed down to the UT campus where, even though it was a stupidly early hour, the celebrations had started.

IMG_2200

Nothing is done by halves in Texas, so there was a very sleepy looking marching band there and a DJ. The race began with the “Old Smokey” cannon being shot, which is ridiculously loud, and then the ridiculousness continued with FIREWORKS being shot off a pedestrian bridge and confetti being shot out of cannons by the Texas Cowboys student group. Really. It was just kind of awesome.

IMG_2202

Look at those happy cowboys and their confetti!

The race itself went well. I did go a bit too fast at the beginning, trying to keep up with an 8:30 pace, but after the first mile I fell into the 9:15ish crowd, and that seemed to be the sweet spot. I managed to finish without walking and without feeling like I was going to die…success!

I crossed the finish line with a time of 57:19, more than 3 1/2 minutes faster than my goal. I got a bit emotional as I walked away from the race. This is something I never thought I’d be able to do, and I did it. This year has been tough for a lot of reasons, but I have accomplished a lot, and this race was a perfect example of that.

IMG_2210

Almost exactly a year ago, I ran my first 5k race and came in just under 35 minutes, which was great for me at the time.

This year, I ran a 10k in 57:19, which was the top third for all the women racers. Yep. I’m feeling pretty darn good.

And I’m beginning to look at half-marathon training plans. Yikes.

13 Responses to “28 New Things: Run a 10k!”

  1. themovingmuncher April 15, 2013 at 6:09 am #

    This is a really great post! I’ve signed up for my first ever 10k mid-May and then my first ever 5k at the beginning of June (sort of backwards but nevermind 🙂 ) and it’s great to see that you’ve achieved so much in 1 year, fab motivation for myself!

    • ohdizzle April 15, 2013 at 6:11 am #

      On I’m so glad! I’d love to hear how your 10k goes! It can be a bit of a tough journey at times, but soooo worth it in the end. 🙂

      • themovingmuncher April 17, 2013 at 9:22 am #

        Thank you 🙂 ! Can’t wait for the satisfied feeling once I cross the finish line!

  2. Jill April 15, 2013 at 6:25 am #

    This is really inspiring! I’ve been running off and on for years, but have yet to run a 10k. It’s one of my goals! It looks like you’ve done a great job training over the past year, and it’s really impressive. Congratulations!

    • ohdizzle April 17, 2013 at 7:34 am #

      Thanks! Definitely give you a shot. It’s a very do-able distance, especially if you have a good amount of running experience already. 🙂

  3. angieeatspeace April 15, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    Congrats, that’s an amazing time!

  4. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) April 15, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    Lookit you! *APPLAUSE AND MORE CONFETTI*

    Also, seeee, this is one of those ‘running is awesome’ posts that gets me all excited and, I guess, hopeful? YAY RUNNING (maybe…)

    • ohdizzle April 17, 2013 at 7:35 am #

      Haha, yep! You should give it a shot! Rather, give it a few shots, because it can kind of suck at first. And don’t be afraid to walk/run in the beginning either. That’s how I got started, and I think it really helps you not feel like you want to die. 😉

  5. shadowoperator April 15, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    Congratulations on your running. Do beware of large marathons like the Boston Marathon, however, where today some terrorists, either domestic or foreign, they don’t yet know which, have injured upward of 100 people and killed 2, one an 8-year-old child, with bombs. I’m not saying don’t attend, that’s what the terrorists want; but observe practical cautions of all sorts, and please don’t get hurt.

  6. ordinarylifeisextraordinary April 16, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    Good for you! I am trying to be a runner. I am signing up for the Marine Corp 10K tomorrow. My husband is training for the marathon so I figure I should train for something as well.

    • ohdizzle April 17, 2013 at 7:36 am #

      Awesome! Good luck with your training! And good luck to your husband too! A marathon is so crazy…but pretty darn cool too.

Give me a shout!

