What I Read This Week: 4/11/13 – 4/17/13

17 Apr

Gotta say — two NONFICTION books in a week? Guys. I’m on a roll.
breasts

Breasts: A Natural and Unnatural History by Florence Williams

How to talk about this book without getting overly personal? Hm. Well, let it be said that I, like most women, have a love/hate relationship with boobs. I’ve always been busty, which led to some pretty awkward, trying to hide myself junior high and high school years. Not only did shirts not fit right and I had back and shoulder pain, I also got to deal with the creepy old men who would stop me at my local gas station to tell 16 year old me that they appreciated that I had a “curvy, womanly body.” Dude. You’re the creepiest.

It’s only as I’ve gotten older that I’ve become more comfortable with that very public part of the female body, but even so, I can’t quite figure out their power.

So, when I saw a nonfiction book about breasts, I knew I had to read it. Florence Williams’ book is more about the science behind breasts and breast health than the sociological aspects of the body part. Between breast milk harboring chemicals from the environment and all the risk factors of breast cancer…I now see my chest as a ticking time bomb. Terrified. This is an eye-opening book for any breast haver/lover out there, but be ready to be schooled on all the ways your breasts could really screw you over.

the perfect mileThe Perfect Mile by Neal Bascomb

As you can imagine, I’m a bit interested in running right now. As running is often a solitary activity, it doesn’t seem like the best subject for a book about sports drama. Au contraire.

The Perfect Mile follows Roger Bannister, John Landy and Wes Santee as the three men pushed themselves to break the four minute mile barrier. These are not today’s runners. They were amateurs with jobs beyond being athletes. They didn’t have technologically advanced shoes or tracks. And yet, they were determined, driven, and, above all else, fast. Athletic bragging rights and national pride (British, Australian and American, respectively) were on the line. Although running until you literally collapse may not be attractive to most readers, it becomes a thing of beauty in this book. Highly recommended, especially to those who would like a bit more inspiration to lace up their running shoes and get out the door.

7 Responses to “What I Read This Week: 4/11/13 – 4/17/13”

  1. kingmidget April 17, 2013 at 6:31 am #

    A Perfect Mile sounds interesting. Thanks for mentioning it. Adding it to my list.

    • ohdizzle April 18, 2013 at 11:35 am #

      Hope you like it! I thought it was pretty interesting.

  2. Sarah Says Reads April 17, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

    I TOTALLY have a love/hate thing going on w/ my chest right now, especially after losing some weight. Breasts sounds interesting, but I’m already totally terrified of breast cancer sooooo I don’t need any more paranoia! Lol.

    • ohdizzle April 18, 2013 at 11:32 am #

      Oh my goodness, the losing weight thing is crazy. All I wanted to do was lose weight in my chest, but when I did, I suddenly doubted my sexiness/womanliness, etc, which is so stupid because I never judge other women by their cup size! Anyway, yes. I’m with you on the love/hate.

  3. Janey April 18, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    I’m getting more and more into non-fiction so I’m going to take a look at both of these. I have a similar love-hate relationship with my boobs, so I know what you mean!

Give me a shout!

