An Introduction.

22 Apr

IMG_1565

Hi everyone!

My blog was advertised on Yes and Yes this weekend, meaning I’ve seen a ton of new traffic around here. I figured it’d be a great time to re-introduce myself!

Mandy…in list form

  • I’m a student in Austin, Texas. I’m getting my masters degree in Information Studies (library/archive/museum stuff). It’s weird to be a student again. Seriously. I don’t write too much about school here, but feel free to send me any questions you have about it!
  • I’m originally from California, and I lived in LA for about nine years before packing it up and heading to Texas. I love LA. LA is the best. That’s why I write about it a lot.
  • My old roommate and I shared custody of a little black and white kitten named Trixie. Trix is special. She has sass and a half. I left her behind with the roommate when I moved away, but I still like to post pictures of her.
  • I also read all the time, both for school and for pleasure. Sitting on my patio with a good book and a cold lemonade on a summer evening is one of life’s great pleasures.
  • I love to travel, and I have lived abroad for two extended periods — both times in the UK. In the UK, I learned how to drink cider like a pro, how to not be hit by a car when they’re coming from the opposite direction than you’re expecting, how to understand some craaaaazy accents (Bristolians…why you sound so cray?!), and how to be an independent person. I miss it all the time.
  • The weirdest foods I’ve ever eaten are pork blood soup at a market in Chang Mai, Thailand, and buffalo style pig tails at the restaurant Animal in LA. Neither were that bad.
  • My favorite Bill Murray movie is What About Bob? A guy on my program was wearing a t-shirt his wife had made for him with a What About Bob? quote. When I asked him about it, he said I was the first person in the five years he’s had the shirt to recognize the quote. I’m so proud.
  • I’m one of those weirdos who love both hip hop and country music. Like, I REALLY love both of them. I think it’s the LA meets Austin thing.
  • Over the past year I’ve gotten into running. I just ran my first 10k, and I just started training for a half marathon. Running keeps me calm and strong. Plus, it means I can eat more ice cream than I would be able to otherwise. And I love ice cream.
  • I use y’all with the best of the Texans now. I’m such a poser.

What about you guys? I’d love to know more about the people who read my blog. What’s your favorite food? Music? Bill Murray movie? Book? Tell me everything!

3 Responses to “An Introduction.”

  1. Gary C April 22, 2013 at 5:40 am #

    Hi Mandy,
    Great blog BTW – here’s my answers;
    1) Favourite food – Yaki Soba (from Wagamama’s)
    2) Anything by Evanescence – Favourite “My Last Breath”
    3) Has to be “Scrooged” – perfect Christmas film and what a performance by Bill!
    4) I’m not much of a reader, but “A brief history of time” was very interesting

    Keep the blogs coming 🙂

  2. angieeatspeace April 22, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    I love What About Bob! That movie got funnier as I learned more and more about psychology.

  3. tomwisk April 23, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    Pleasure to meet you. Food is a passion, spent 15 yrs. in kitchens. Music is all over the place, right now Maria Schneider and Patricia O’Callaghan. Bill Murray, maybe Stripes.

Give me a shout!

