What I Read This Week– 4/25/13 – 5/1/13

1 May

charlotte street

Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace

There’s a certain type of British novel that I like — sad sack guy goes through break up, goes on some crazy adventures, meets some fun characters, and comes out a slightly better person. High Fidelity is obviously the apex of this genre, but Charlotte Street wasn’t a bad addition. Jason is still fuming over a break-up, living in a squalid London flat with his goofy friend Dev. He has a pointless job and a whole lot of self-loathing. One night, as he helps a cute girl get in a taxi, he accidentally ends up with her disposable camera. With help from a boisterous crew of characters, Jason is decides to try to track the girl down with the clues from her photographs.

This was a trifle of a book, but honestly a really fun one. Even at his whiniest, Jason is fairly sympathetic. His relationship with Dev is a sweet but still realistic example of adult friendship. The relationship angst, while hilarious, comes from a real enough place. All good things for a breezy, summery read.

 

whered you go bernadette

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple

Where’d You Go, Bernadette was one of the 2012 hit books, and I can see why. Bernadette is the wife of a Microsoft executive (and TED star), the mother of a star student at a very exclusive private school, and a former rising architecture star. Now, she spends most of her time hiding in her vine covered mansion, figuring out ways to avoid or anger the obnoxious mothers at her daughter’s school. And then, after booking a trip to Antartica for the family, she disappears.

This is also a pretty breezy read, thanks in part to its epistolary format. I always find that books in letter format are quick going, as you get to flit from character to character. Well, unless you’re talking about Pamela. Gah. That was hard going for young English major Mandy. Yikes.

But yeah, a satirical mystery about the overly rich. Again. Summer read. Apparently, I’m preparing for summer break a little bit early.

3 Responses to “What I Read This Week– 4/25/13 – 5/1/13”

  1. Kit May 1, 2013 at 7:44 am #

    I’ve had Charlotte Street sitting in my room for ages now- I really enjoyed Danny Wallace’s Yes Man which got me through a tricky time- and think maybe I ought to do something about it and just have a read of it! Where’d You Go, Bernadette has also been on my radar for a while, so will have to hunt it down. Thanks for the suggestions!

  2. Janey May 1, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    I heard him talking about this on the radio last week and if went straight on my to read list!

  3. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) May 1, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    Um. This post is perfect, for you referenced both 1) The awesomeness of High Fidelity, and 2) The terribleness of Pamela. I love you.

    I feel like I know who Danny Wallace is, and I kind of don’t like him..? But that doesn’t mean his book is going to be bad. Obvs. *convinces self of this*. And ALSO I think I probably need to read Where’d You Go, Bernadette, because, you know, everyone is. And everyone seems to know their stuff!

Give me a shout!

