Road Trip!

27 May
road trip to LA
I’m getting ready to head back to LA for the summer, and this whole adventure starts with a good, long three day trip across the Southwest. I’ve been on plenty of road trips with my family and shorter trips on my own, but this is the first multi-day trip I’ll do all on my lonesome. How to prepare?
  • Look the part! That outfit above represents exactly what I want to wear every day in a warm car. It’s a good thing I have too many gingham shirts of all colors. Now I can just swap them out as needed!
  • Scout the route! The trip from Central Texas to California is not known to be that exciting, so I did a bit of research. After realizing that staying completely on the most direct route means I’ll mostly just be going through mile after mile of desert, I realized that it  adds just a couple hours to my trip to hit Carlsbad Caverns National Park in New Mexico. So, I swapped my route so I can include that. And I’m super stoked! I don’t know when I would go otherwise, and it’s the perfect way to break up the trip a bit.
  • Ready your tunes! For those 8-10 hour days, an epic playlist is necessary so you don’t lose your mind. Spotify is my friend. I swear, paying them $8 a month for unlimited streaming is one of the best things I did this year. I’ve already set up a California themed playlist, and I’ve found a few other road trip playlists others have made.
  • Audiobook/Podcast it up! Music is awesome, but sometimes you need a change of pace after tw or three hours. I just found out that Austin Public Library let’s you download audiobooks off their website for free! The selection isn’t ideal, but I did find A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki, which I’ve had on my to read list. And, of course, podcasts. You know I love them. I’ve been stockpiling over the past couple weeks so I’ll have a few episodes of all my favorites.
  • Healthy snacktime! I just bought a cute collapsible bag cooler from Target, that I plan on filling with all sorts of fruit and string cheese and whatnot. Otherwise? Oh, I’m all about the spicy cheetos they sell at gas stations. Unfortunately, my waistline is not.

What are your favorite ways to pass the time while road tripping? Any tips?

One Response to “Road Trip!”

  1. Becky May 29, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    Do you know about roadtrippers.com? It’s the best! You can put in your route and it’ll tell you what’s along the way or nearby.

Give me a shout!

