Made it!

3 Jun

Doing a full three day road trip by yourself is kind of intense. I’m happy to say I made it, though both my car and my nerves are a bit worse for wear.

Sword of Damocles | Carlsbad Caverns

Carlsbad Caverns, through the lens of someone who actually does have the right photography equipment! Amazing!

Here’s what I learned on my road trip:

  • Roadtripping by yourself is pretty awesome. You get to leave the hotel whenever you want! No waiting for lazy people! No being ordered out of bed by early risers! You get to listen to what you want on the radio THE ENTIRE TIME. Really, I thought I would be lonely, and there were a few times, but overall I kind of enjoyed the experience.
  • Carlsbad Caverns is AWESOME, MAGICAL and AMAZING, but also way out in the middle of the New Mexico/Texas border oil country. There is nothing around there. At all. So, you’re probably never going to just be in the neighborhood to stop by, but it’s well worth going out of your way. Seeing the most delicate stalactites hanging from the ceiling of a giant cavern wayyyy underground is really special.
  • Bring a sweater to the caverns. Who would of thunk that it’s a whole lot colder underground than it is above ground? EVERYONE BUT ME.
  • Oh, and unless you’re a professional photographer with a whole bunch of versatile lenses, you’re going to have no good pictures of the Caverns. It’s dark down there!
  • Download your music and podcasts before you hit the road. You certainly can’t rely on 3G coverage in the middle of the Texas desert.
  • McDonalds breakfast sausage biscuit is an amazing food that I wish I could eat every day and not gain a million pounds. McDonalds iced coffee is basically coffee flavored melted ice cream. Gross.
  • Fill your tank every time it hits half. You do not want to be the person stuck in the middle of New Mexico without gas. Really.
  • Do whatever you can to avoid driving through 112 degree heat. It might destroy your car a little bit.
  • If, after you’ve driven through the aforementioned 112 degree heat, you’re driving on the LA freeway and your front tire blows out…don’t panic. Be calm. This is what all your driving training of the past 11 years has been leading up to. Control the car and get the heck to the side. You guys. This was one of the scariest things that ever happened to me. Luckily, I was in LA, but not in the middle of downtown, and there weren’t any cars right around me…but jeez. It could’ve been bad.
  • Oh, make sure you’ve updated your AAA before you leave. If it happened to expire a week before your tire blows out, they will let you renew over the phone, but this is probably something you should’ve checked forever ago, right? Right.
  • Make sure you have dinner with awesome friends after your car almost kills you. It makes you feel better.
  • When you get home after an incredibly long four days, your car will be making weird growling, sad noises. Look up how much your car is worth. When it is $800…it’s probably time to figure out a new car situation.

So, yep. That’s where I am. The road trip was a success in that I saw some cool stuff and got where I needed to be, but it may have done in my good little 1997 Honda Civic. Alas. As is life.

2 Responses to “Made it!”

  1. qiquan June 3, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    I think road-tripping by myself is like pasta without the cheese, of course we need to get the right cheese for the pasta! Or we can turn others to the right Cheese, and we the best pasta =).

    kc

  2. Courtney June 4, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    Road tripping solo is tons of fun. Oh, and I’m also partial to McDonald’s sausage biscuits, though I only eat them maybe once or twice a year. 🙂

Give me a shout!

