Top Ten Books on my Summer To Be Read List!

20 Jun

I used to participate in Broke and Bookish Top Ten Tuesdays back in the day…but why do something else on Tuesdays when I have so many Trixie pictures to post?! I did like their topic this Tuesday though, so I decided to just shift it back a couple days.

Summer reading is always tough. I actually have a bit more time to read something slightly more in depth, but then again, it’s summer. Shouldn’t I be reading fluffy romances and mystery novels? Is there an in between?

Top Ten Books to Read This Summer!

1. The Middlesteins by Jami Attenberg

middlesteins

I feel like epic American family novels are good summer reading. They don’t feel like you’re slouching, but they include enough drama and comedy to be ok poolside reading. This one centers around a woman’s preoccupation with food and how that affects her family in some outlandish ways. I’m in.

2. Ask the Dust by John Fante

ask the dust

Obviously, living in LA I really should read a classic LA novel. Ask the Dust is about the struggles of being young and in love in LA…especially the struggles that happen after the object of your affection disappears. This book is written in a stream of consciousness style, so that works the brain a bit too!

3. Sacre Bleu by Christopher Moore

sacre bleu

Christopher Moore writes some pretty funny novels, and this one is supposedly no exception. And it’s a historical mystery comedy involving Henri Toulouse-Lautrec and Vincent van Gogh! You can practically taste the cheap Parisian wine!

4. Taco USA: How Mexican Food Conquered America by Gustavo Arellano

Taco USA

Because I’m obviously planning on eating my weight in Mexican food this summer. Duh.

5. Sex and the Single Girl by Helen Gurley Brown

sex and the single girl

Helen Gurley Brown, the woman who saved Cosmo magazine, died this year, leaving behind an incredibly complicated legacy. Feminist icon? Woman who helped perpetuate ridiculous beauty standards? I’m not sure, but maybe reading her book will help me figure it out.

6. Nothing Daunted: The Unexpected Education of Two Society Girls in the West by Dorothy Wickenden

nothing daunted

I won’t be traveling as much as I’d like to this summer, but I can live vicariously through these young women who, in 1916, left their fancy friends in New York and headed to the mountains of Colorado.

7. Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality by Jacob Tomsky

heads in beds

Things go on in hotels. Horrible, sexy, ridiculous, shady things. I want to read about all of those things.

8. A Girl Called Problem by Katie Quirk

girl called problem

Every summer needs some good middle grades novel reading, and this one features a strong female lead in an interesting place, Tanzania. Plus it’s getting all sorts of elementary school teacher and children’s librarian street cred. That’s the best street cred.

9. The Boy Kings of Texas by Domingo Martinez

boy kings of texas

This gritty memoir about growing up poor in South Texas will maybe help me prepare for the heat and stickiness of Texas after a long luxurious LA summer. If not, it’ll remind me that I’m pretty darn lucky to have the luxury to be doing this summer reading.

10. Let’s Explore Diabetes With Owls by David Sedaris

lets explore diabetes with owlsThere’s a new David Sedaris book out. Do I need to say anything more?

What’s on all of your summer reading lists? I’d love to hear!

5 Responses to “Top Ten Books on my Summer To Be Read List!”

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart June 20, 2013 at 7:42 am #

    All these look like good books. The Middlesteins is on my summer reading list as well. I might have to add the one about hotels too…that one just looks too good.

    • ohdizzle June 20, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

      Right?! Who knew hotels would be that interesting sounding??

  2. Courtney June 20, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    I read Sacre Bleu a few months ago and really enjoyed it. It was the first I’d read by Moore; he reminds me a bit of Tom Robbins, who I absolutely love.

    Also, I have the new David Sedaris book on hold at the library. Just waiting for it to be returned. 🙂

    • ohdizzle June 20, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

      That’s good to hear! I loved Moore’s book Lamb, but I read it at least 8 years ago, so I have no idea how it holds up.

      And that’s exciting about the new Sedaris!! I have a feeling the LA Public Library has a hold list about a mile long for that book.

  3. angieeatspeace June 27, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    I read Taco USA and it made me hungry!
    I just bought David Sedaris’ new book and am excited to read it!

Give me a shout!

